Mumbai: Sale Of Liquor To Be Prohibited During Assembly Elections

City News

Sale of liquor has been banned during the Maharashtra elections 2019 between October 19 to October 21 and on October 24 in lieu of the Model Code of Conduct

Written By Ankita Chakraborty | Mumbai | Updated On:

Sale of liquor has been banned during the Maharashtra assembly elections between October 19 to October 21 and also on, October 24. City Collector Shivajirao Jondhale on October 6 issued orders to stop the sale of all kinds of liquor. He further stated that shops must remain closed in lieu of the Maharashtra Assembly Elections. This comes ahead of elections as the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) bars the sale of all kinds of liquor for two days or a 48-hour period ahead of the polls.

WATCH | Fadnavis Endorses Aaditya Thackeray, Says He Will Win 'maximum Votes'

"If anyone is found violating these orders, action will be taken against them. If licenced liquor shops are found selling liquor during these days, their licences will be cancelled permanently," according to a press note from the Collector's office.

READ | BJP Vice-President Speaks About Party's Success In Maharashtra

Prohibitory measures 

Prohibitory orders against the liquor sale will begin from October 19 from 6 pm onwards. It is to stay effective throughout the day until October 21. The order will remain effective the whole day on October 25 as well. The prohibitory order against liquor has been issued under section 135C of Representation of People's Act 1951 and multiple other rules and regulations that are governing the sale of country-made liquor and liquors from other brands in the state. 

READ | Maharashtra Elections: EC Declares 798 Nominations Out Of 5543 Invalid

Maharashtra Assembly Elections

Maharashtra is all set to go to polls on October 21 with the counting of the votes to be done on October 24. In the previous assembly elections, the BJP and the Sena had formed a majority government with Devendra Fadnavis becoming the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. Yuva Sena President Aaditya Thackeray is going to contest in the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly elections from the Worli constituency and he is the first member of the Thackeray family to take part in the electoral politics. The CM, while speaking about the saffron allies' seat-sharing formula, stated that the Sena will contest the polls from 124 constituencies while the BJP will contest from 150 constituencies. In addition, the other allies will contest from 14 constituencies. Fadnavis, however, refuted claims of Aaditya Thackeray being considered for the Chief Ministerial candidate. 

READ | Shiv Sena's Aaditya Thackeray Will Contest 2019 Maharashtra Elections

(With ANI inputs)

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water