WATCH: 'I Am Not Happy But I Will Still Fight', Says Rajasthan BJP Minister Expressing Resentment Over Tonk Election Ticket

City News

In an unprecedented election controversy for Vasundhara Raje government in Rajasthan, BJP leader Yunus Khan has expressed discontent over his election ticket in Tonk constituency.

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Updated On:

In an unprecedented election controversy that has hit the Bharatiya Janata Party and Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje ahead of the state assembly elections, Cabinet Minister Yunus Khan has admitted that he is not satisfied with his electoral ticket from Tonk district Rajasthan. The BJP leader from Rajasthan is all set to fight the election against Rajasthan Congress president Sachin Pilot from Tonk constituency in the upcoming assembly election.

However, during an election campaign, he stated that while he has been contesting from Didwana for the past 10 years, he has to follow the guidelines of the BJP party even if he is not happy with his constituency being changed from Didwana to Tonk.

“I have been a minister for the past 10 years and I have been contesting from Didwana. The people of Didwana have been like my family and I am like there family. When I did not get a ticket from there, they were very unhappy and when Ajit Mehta name was taken back, Tonk people were also not happy. Now neither him nor I am happy, but still we are fighting for the symbol of Lotus. We will follow orders of BJP,” stated BJP leader Yunus Khan while addressing the public in Rajasthan.

READ:  Sachin Pilot Questions Vasundhara Raje's Association With Rajasthan, CM Raje Hits Back

As per sources, Ajit Mehta initially got the ticket to contest from Tonk constituency in Rajasthan. However, when Congress leader Sachin Pilot, who will be contesting for the first time in assembly seat, got the ticket to contest from Tonks, BJP dropped Ajit Mehta from the constituency and gave the responsibility to Yunus Khan.

Recently, the BJP released its second list of 31 candidates in the 200- member assembly in Rajasthan state. So far, the BJP has announced the names of 162 candidates for the upcoming assembly polls.

Rajasthan is set to go into assembly polls on December 7. The counting of votes will begin on December 11, along with four other states- Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram.

The BJP under Vasundhara Raje's leadership had won 163 of the assembly seats in the state in 2013. 

READ: Rajasthan Polls: Manvendra Singh To Contest Against Vasundhara Raje

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water