AAP Releases 2nd List Of Candidates Ahead Of Maharashtra Elections


The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has recently come out with its second list of candidates who are to contest in the upcoming assembly elections in Maharashtra

Written By Ankita Chakraborty | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has recently come out with its second list of candidates for the Assembly elections in Maharashtra. The list includes the names of Adv. Khateeb Vakeel (Solapur Central), Dr. Sunil Gavit (Navapur), Dr. Abu Altamash Faizi (Mumbra Kalwa), and Narendra Bhambwani (Mira Road). Preeti Sharma, the national spokesperson of AAP, had earlier spoken to the media stating there is no opposition in Maharashtra and that the Congress-NCP alliance is a 'B-team' of the BJP. Furthermore, she added that AAP is going to play a key role in the upcoming assembly elections. 

READ | Maharashtra Polls: Sena Leader Says 'alliance With BJP A Certainty'

WATCH | Delhi: BJP Accuses AAP Govt Of Reaping Benefits Over High Onion Prices

The first list released by AAP

AAP had earlier released the first list of candidates. The party has decided to contest on 50 odd seats in the assembly elections. The first list of candidates is as follows, Vitthal Lad (Jogeshwari East), Siraj Khan (Chandivili), Dilip Tawde (Dindoshi), Paromita Goswami (Bramhapuri), Anand Gurav (Karveer), Vishal Vadghule (Nandgaon), Abhijit More (Kothrud), and Sandeep Sonawane (Parvati). The AAP has decided to make the environment a key issue in the upcoming elections. Furthermore, the party has hit back at the Devendra Fadnavis Government over their stand on the axing of trees in the Aarey colony. 

READ | DU's South Campus Students Join AAP's Student Wing Ahead Of Polls

Maharashtra Assembly Elections 

The Election Commission has recently made an announcement that Maharashtra is to go to polls on October 21 this year. The state of Maharashtra has 288 Assembly seats. The elections will be held in a single-phase and the counting procedure would be held on October 24. The Election Commission chief Sunil Arora also announced that the last date of nomination is on October 4. Arora also notified the media that the parties in Maharashtra had wanted the polls to be concluded by Dhanteras. 

READ | Maharashtra Polls: BJP's First List Likely To Be Revealed Tomorrow

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water