Ahead Of Elections, Congress Releases A VIDEO With Kalki Koechlin, Vishal Dadlani, Swara Bhasker & Other Bollywood Celebrities With One Message To The People Of India. Here's What It Is


Congress released a video with a caption: "Bollywood has one message to the people of India: Vote karo, magar soch samajh ke." Watch here -

Written By Chetna Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:

Ahead of the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 that begin on Aprill 11, Congress has released a video montage of some of the Bollywood celebrities and influencers to promote one message — Vote karo, magar soch samajh ke.

The video includes: Kalki Koechlin, Mohd Zeeshan Ayyub, Varun Grover, Kunal Kamra, Amole Gupte, Anupama Chopra, Tigmanshu Dhulia, Nandita Das, Renuka Shahane, Vikramaditya Motwane, Swara Bhasker, Vinay Shukla, Vishal Dadlani, Rajeev Nigam and Sayani Gupta.

Watch the video here -

They later also released a video featuring Dia Mirza and wrote: "Bollywood star Smt. @deespeak  has a message to every Indian: Vote. It's your democratic right & your strongest weapon against hate & injustice."

READ | 'Sacred Games' Actor Pankaj Tripathi Has A Message Ahead Of The First Phase Of Elections 2019. Here's What He Said

Watch the video -

CEC Sunil Arora announced that 10 lakh polling stations will be set up for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls as against 9 lakh in 2014. The Election Commission also said that Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) will be used with EVMs in all polling stations. 

"The mandatory First Level Checks and training to District Officers are being ensured to meet the requirement of 100 per cent VVPATs across approximately 10.6 lakh polling stations for the Lok Sabha Election in 2019," CEC said.

Around 22.3 lakh ballot Units, 16.3 lakh control units and nearly 17.3 lakh VVPATs will be used for the forthcoming elections. In addition to this, basic facilities like drinking water, electricity, etc will be provided at all polling stations.

The Chief Election Commissioner also revealed that in comparison to the 814.5 million people who had voted in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, 900 million would be voting in 2019. 

Election is going to take place in seven phases instead of 9 as compared to 2014 elections.

  • 1st phase polling to be held on 11th April, 
  • -2nd phase on 18th April, 
  • -3rd phase on 23rd April, 
  • -4th phase on 29th April, 
  • -5th phase on 6th May, 
  • -6th phase on 12th May, 
  • -7th phase on 19th May.
  • Counting of all phases on 23rd May, said the CEC.
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water