Haryana Assembly Elections: BJP's First List Of 78 Candidates Released


Addressing a press conference, National General Secretary Arun Singh announced the BJP's first list of 78 candidates for the upcoming Haryana Assembly election.

Written By Akhil Oka | Mumbai | Updated On:

Addressing a press conference at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi on Monday, National General Secretary Arun Singh announced the BJP's first list of 78 candidates for the upcoming Haryana Assembly election. He mentioned that the Central Election Committee of the party under the leadership of Amit Shah had approved the names. Leaders such as Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and other members of the Committee attended the meeting. Describing Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar as "successful", Singh revealed that he would contest from the Karnal seat. 

Read: Maharashtra & Haryana Elections: Here Are Voter, Seat And EVM Figures

Sportspersons fielded

He added that BJP's Haryana state unit chief and current Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) Subhash Barala would also fight the election. Along with this, the party has fielded sporting stars such as Yogeshwar Dutt, Sardar Sandeep Singh, and Babita Phogat. 

Read: BSP Names Two Women In The Candidates List For The Haryana Polls

Jain said, “Haryana’s successful Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar would fight the election from Karnal. Haryana BJP state president and current MLA Subhash Barala will contest from Tohana. Yogeshwar Dutt, the famous wrestler who has won five medals will fight the election from Baroda, which is No.32 constituency. Similarly, Hockey player and former captain who helped India win the gold medal in the Asian Games, Sardar Sandeep Singh will fight from Pehowa. Along with this, wrestler Babita Phogat who joined the BJP recently will fight from Dadri seat.” 

Sitting minister Anil Vij will contest from Ambala Cantonment constituency, while the Namaund constituency has gone to Captain Abhimanyu. Furthermore, senior leaders Omparkash Dhankad and Rambilash Sharma will contest from Badli and Mahendragarh respectively. Jain stated that 38 sitting MLAs had been given tickets again. He mentioned that the party had decided to field 9 women candidates in the election. He reiterated that 3 sportspersons of world repute had been given tickets. Moreover, Jain exuded confidence that BJP would return to power in Haryana with 3/4th majority in the state Assembly. 

Read: Yogeshwar Dutt Joins BJP, In Talks To Contest Haryana Assembly Polls

The Assembly election

The Election Commission of India recently announced the state Assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra, along with bypolls in several other states. The total strength of the Haryana Assembly is 90, out of which 17 seats have been reserved for SC category. In total, Haryana has 1.82 crore registered voters, out of which 1.7 lakh are service voters. 0.38 lakh ballot units, 0.25 lakh control units, and 0.27 lakh VVPATs will be used in the state. While the voting will take place on October 21, the results will be declared on October 24. 

Read: Khattar Confident About BJP Crossing 75-mark In The Haryana Polls


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water