Haryana Exit Poll: BJP's Zakir Hussain Likely To Win From Nuh


As per the projection of the Republic-Jan Ki Baat Exit Poll, BJP candidate Zakir Hussain is likely to win the Muslim-dominated Nuh assembly seat

Written By Akhil Oka | Mumbai | Updated On:

The voting in the Haryana Assembly elections concluded bringing to an end the month-long poll process which commenced in September. In association with Republic, Jan Ki Baat has conducted an Exit Poll on Monday, surveying 40,000 people in Haryana. It has been done using Probability Map Of Outcome model (PMOO) which is backed by issue wise location matrix. The sample was geo-strategically selected through purposive sampling with weighted consideration to caste, and demography factors. Locations such as bus stand, farmland, market places, building complexes, rural markets near polling booth were selected for the focused discussions. Behavioral science techniques and psychometric methods were used for this purpose.

Read | Randeep Surjewala: 'Everyone's Ego Breaks, BJP's Ego Will Also Break'

Nuh seat

According to the Republic-Jan Ki Baat Exit Poll, BJP’s Zakir Hussain is projected to win the Nuh seat against the tough competition of Congress’ Aftab Ahmed. The two leaders have been involved in the electoral battle for many years. In the 2009 elections, Ahmed secured a victory by receiving 33,295 votes. However, Hussain, contesting on an Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) ticket, won the 2014 Assembly poll with a margin of 32,796 votes. He had joined the BJP just before the current election. 

Read | Haryana Opinion Poll: BJP Projected To Win Big, Congress Struggles

BJP projected to win

In the Exit Poll, it has been predicted that BJP will surpass its 2014 performance of 47 seats. It is projected to get anywhere between 52 to 63 seats. Moreover, there is also a prediction of BJP achieving a voteshare of 56%. On the other hand, Congress is likely to gain approximately 15 to 19 seats. The tally of the INLD is projected to go down to just a seat. In contrast, JJP is likely to receive a high voteshare, gaining nearly 5 to 9 seats in the process. Furthermore, others including Independents and smaller parties are predicted to secure 7 to 9 seats.

Read | Haryana Exit Poll Projection: BJP To Win 2/3 Seats, Vadra-Cong Routed

Clean sweep in Lok Sabha elections

BJP successfully formed its government in Haryana for the first time in 2014 under the leadership of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar. The party has been on a roll in Haryana winning all 10 Lok Sabha seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Overall, 0.38 lakh ballot units, 0.25 lakh control units, and 0.27 lakh VVPATs were used in the Assembly polls. As per the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, the State registered a voting percentage of 63.55%. 

Read | Haryana Elections: Here Are 5 Seats Which Could Go Down To The Wire

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water