Haryana Exit Poll: Congress Leader BS Hooda Projected To Win In Kiloi


Congress leader and former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda is projected to win against Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Satish Nandal

Written By Varsha Chavan | Mumbai | Updated On:

Voting for Haryana Assembly election has concluded and as per the figures released by the Election Commission of India, the State has registered a voting percentage of 63.55%. As per Republic-Jan Ki Baat Exit Poll based on ground surveys ahead of the Haryana assembly elections results, Congress leader and former Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda is projected to win against Bharatiya Janata Party member Satish Nandal.

Earlier, Hooda had defeated Nandal by 47,185 votes in 2014 and by 72,100 votes in 2009. The big difference this time, however, is that Nandal who contested the last two polls as a candidate from the Indian National Lok Dal – joined the BJP in June this year and has now been fielded as a candidate by the saffron party.

Bhupinder Singh Hooda is a four-time MP and he defeated former deputy Prime Minister Chaudhary Devi Lal thrice from Rohtak. This time, Hooda is seeking his third consecutive term to the Haryana state assembly from Garhi Sampla Kiloi constituency in Rohtak district.

READ | Haryana Exit Poll: BJP's Kamal Gupta Projected To Win In Hisar

Republic-Jan Ki Baat Exit Poll

As per the Republic-Jan Ki Baat Exit Poll, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is projected to win the assembly polls in Haryana this year. According to the exit poll, BJP is likely to get 52 to 63 seats. On the other hand, the Congress is projected to get 19 to 15 seats, Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) is projected to get 9 to 5 seats, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) is projected to get one to zero seats, while the remaining parties are projected to get 9 to 7 seats.

READ | BS Hooda Mocks Haryana CM Khattar, Says Riding A Bicycle 'mere Jumla'

Haryana assembly elections 2014

In the 2014 Haryana Assembly elections, Bhupinder Singh Hooda of INC won in this seat by defeating the INLD candidate by a margin of 47,185 votes which was 33.49% of the total votes polled in the constituency. INC had a vote share of 57.28% in 2014 in the seat.

Haryana assembly elections 2019

In Haryana, 19,578 polling stations were set up for citizens to cast their votes. The assembly polls witnessed a contest among BJP, Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the recently formed Jannayak Janata Party (JJP). The results will be declared on October 24. In 2014 elections, BJP had won 47 seats and formed the government on its own strength while the Congress managed just 15 seats. The INLD finished second with 19 seats. 

READ | Haryana Exit Poll Projection: BJP To Win 2/3 Seats, Vadra-Cong Routed

READ | Haryana: JJP's Dushyant Chautala Projected To Win In Uchana Kalan

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water