Janhvi Kapoor's Tweet Promoting Modi Government Goes Viral. Here's Busting The Fake News


Janhvi Kapoor's name used by a Twitter account to promote Modi Government. Here's the truth

Written By Chetna Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:

'Dhadak' actress Janhvi Kapoor's tweet saying 'I do not understand politics but know that the country needs Modi ji' went viral on social media. The tweet that got over 4,000 shares, 11,000 likes and over 700 comments was posted by a person called Govind Saroj.

The page unfortunately doesn't exist now and has been deleted but the account was created in June 2017. The account ‘govinddeshpremi’ was renamed to ‘realjanhvi’.

TRUTH: Janhvi Kapoor is NOT on Twitter and only uses her Instagram handle.

Here's the proof -

This is not the first time a fake news has been circulated amidst the ongoing General Elections. Earlier too, Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone's picture went viral where the two were spotted wearing a saffron scarf with 'Vote for BJP' written on it.  A group called 'Ek Bihari 100 Pe Bhari' on Facebook had photoshopped the images of the couple and put the slogan 'Vote For BJP' on the saffron scarf they wore at the temple after their wedding.

READ | Ranveer Singh And Deepika Padukone's Photoshopped Image Promoting 'Vote For BJP' Goes Viral, Here's The Truth

With 95 seats, 1619 candidates and 179880 polling booths at disposition the states that have gone to polls on Thursday are -  

Assam (5 seats), Bihar (5 seats), Chhattisgarh (3 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (2 seats), Karnataka (14 seats), Maharashtra (10 seats), Manipur (1 seat), Odisha (5 seats), Tamil Nadu (38 seats), Uttar Pradesh (8 seats), West Bengal(3 seats) and Puducherry (1 seat). 

The list does not account for Tamil Nadu's Vellore and Tripura East constituency.

READ | VIRAL PICTURE: Did Google CEO Sundar Pichai cast his vote in Tamil Nadu? Here's the truth

The polls will see seats from where high profile candidates are contending: 

Deve Gowda (JD), BK Hariprasad (Congress), PC Mohan (BJP), Yashwant Singh (BJP), Raj Babbar (Congress), Hema Malini (BJP), SP Singh Baghel (BJP), Maharaj Kumari Pragya Debburman (Congress), Farooq Abdullah (NC), Syed Mohsin (PDP), Mohammad Salim (CPM), Ashok Chavan (Congress).

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water