Karnataka Bypolls Results LIVE: As BJP Takes Initial Lead, Congress-JD(S) Alliance To Undergo Its First Litmus Test


The results for the bypoll elections in three Lok Sabha constituencies and two assembly seats in Karnataka will be out on Tuesday. Counting has already begun. All live updates here.

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Updated On:

Update at 1:15 PM: Many comments have been made against our alliance, calling it 'unholy'. These results are a befitting reply. Many of our programs have not reached the people yet, owing to lack of time. But, we saw these results. In the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, our farm loan waiver schemes, giving assistance to vendors etc, which will reach the people will have an impact. We will not get complacent because  of these results. Congress-JD(S) alliance will win 28 seats in the LS elections:  HD Kumaraswamy, Chief Minister of Karnataka and Janata Dal(S) chief.

Update at 12:25 PM:

Update at 12:14 PM: This is definitely a moral booster for us. We unfortunately missed out on Shimoga. But this victory has boosted our preparations for Lok Sabha polls:  Karnataka Deputy CM G Parameshwara.

Update at 12:10 PM: Great news for Diwali. Diwali celebrations will be on for the next three days. I hope everybody has a great Diwali. The results of the battle has come on Diwali. It is a Diwali gift for Congress and JD(S) alliance. I would like to say thanks to all the people, especially Ballari. People are against BJP and Narendra Modi in Karnataka: Former Chief minister of Karnataka and Congress leader Siddaramaiah

Update at 12:01 PM: Congress's AS Nyamagouda wins Jamkhandi assembly seat

Update at 11:45 AM: BJP wins Shimoga by 47388 votes

Update at 11:25 AM: I was given the charge for Ballari and I am happy with the result. Our main goal is the development in Ballari. People have delivered its fitting mandate. I have accepted victory and defeat with all humility: DK Shivakumar, INC leader

Update at 11:20 AM: 

Update at 10:45 AM: JDS-Congress continues its victory

Update at 10:23 AM: Anitha Kumaraswamy (JD(S)), wife of HD Kumaraswamy, wins from Ramangara constituency

Update at 10:19 AM: JD(S)'s LR Shivaramegowda wins in Mandya Lok Sabha constituency

Update at 10:01 AM: Congress VS Ugrappa establishes 1.5L lead in Ballari. Sources say he's beaten Sonia Gandhi and Sriramulu's record in the constituency.

Update at 9:50 AM: BJP's BY Raghavendra leads over JD(S)'s S Madhubangarappa by 2627 votes in the 3rd round of counting in Shimoga

Update at 9:48 AM: JD(S) leading by 1,09,066 votes over BJP in Mandya parliamentary seat after counting of votes in round 5

Update at 9:40 AM: Congress' VS Ugrappa leading over BJP's J Shantha by 84257 votes in Bellary parliamentary seat after counting of votes for Round 5

Update at 9:38 AM: Congress' VS Ugrappa leading over BJP's J Shantha by 45808 votes in Bellary

Update at 9:17 AM: BJP's BY Raghavendra leading over JDS's S Madhubangarappa by 3906 votes in the 1st round of counting in Shimoga parliamentary seat

Update at 9:15 AM: 

Update at 9:01 AM: JDS' Madhu Bangarappa leads Shimoga by 480 votes

Update at 8:47 AM: Congress-JD(S) lead in 4 constituencies and BJP in 1 as per initial leads.

Update at 8:44 AM:

  • BJP - 1 (Shimoga)
  • Congress - 1 (Ballary)
  • JD(S) - 1 (Mandya)

Update at 8:40 AM: 

  • BJP - 0
  • Congress - 1
  • JD(S) - 2

Update at 8:39 AM: BJP is trailing in Shimoga Lok Sabha

Update at 8:37 AM: Anitha kumaraswamy JD(S) is leading with 3520 votes in Ramanagara assembly

Update at 8:31 AM:

  • BJP - 1
  • Congress - 1
  • JD(S) - 1

Update at 8:27 AM: Congress candidate is leading in Jamakhandi

Update at 8:26 AM: Congress is leading in Ballary

Update at 8: 25 AM: JD(S) is leading in Mandya

Update at 8:24 AM: BJP is leading in Shimoga (Lok Sabha)

The results for the bypoll elections in three Lok Sabha constituencies, namely Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya, and two legislative assembly seats namely, Ramanagara and Jamakhandi in Karnataka, which went into polls on November 3, will be out on Tuesday. The counting of votes has already begun.

An estimates voter turnout of 67 per cent was recorded for the five constituencies in Karnataka, following the elections, with a total of 31 candidates contesting to win the seats in the five constituencies.

Out of the three parliamentary constituencies, the BJP held two, while the JD(S) held only one. The BJP holds Shimoga constituency that holds power for the state chief, BS Yeddyurappa, and Ballari which is the stronghold for the Reddy brothers.

READ: Former Karnataka CM Jagadish Shettar Claims 'Karnataka Government will Topple Post November 6'

The ruling Congress-Janata dal (Secular) alliance is also all set to undergo its first litmus test after the elections results are out. While JD(S) candidates contested from Mandya and Shimoga Lok Sabha seats and Ramanagara assembly constituency, the Congress contested its candidates in Bellary Lok Sabha seat and Jamakhandi assembly seat.

READ: National Approval Ratings: Despite JD(S)-Congress Ruling Alliance In Karnataka, BJP Projected To Retain Single-largest Party Tag

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water