Maha Elections: CM Shocked Over Udayanraje Bhosale's Defeat In Satara


Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis expressed distress over the results of Satara, where Shivaji Maharaj's descendant Udayanraje Bhosale lost to NCP

Written By Prachi Mankani | Mumbai | Updated On:

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis expressed distress over the results of Satara and Parli. The Nationalist Congress Party is set to retain the Satara Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra as three-time MP Udayanraje Bhosale, who switched over from the Sharad Pawar-led party to the Bharatiya Janata Party last month, trailed by a huge margin.

Furthermore, BJP leader and Maharashtra cabinet minister Pankaja Munde on Thursday accepted her defeat from Parli assembly seat against her cousin and NCP leader Dhananjay Munde. Acknowledging the same, the Chief Minister said,

"Two results are shocking for us - By-poll for Satara Lok Sabha constituency and Parli Assembly constituency. Our six ministers have lost, we will find out reasons tomorrow onward. Today's the day to celebrate our victory and let us do that. "

The by-election in Satara was necessitated after sitting MP Udayanraje Bhosale's quit the NCP and shifted to the ruling party. Udayanraje Bhosale had jumped ships and had joined the  Nationalist Congress Party in September, months after getting elected to parliament from Maharashtra's Satara in the Lok Sabha elections. A 13th generation descendant of Maratha king Shivaji Maharaj, he had seemed like a worthy addition to the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance at the time. The NCP has fielded Shriniwas Patil, a  popular orator in the region. Satara constituency is a bastion of the Nationalist Congress Party and the party is trying to regain its stronghold.

READ | Haryana: Deepender Hooda invites Dushyant Chautala & INLD to form govt

READ | UP bypolls: BJP and ally Apna Dal improve lead; ahead in 8 seats

Devendra Fadnavis wins Nagpur South West constituency

As per official trends by the Election Commission, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis is leading from Nagpur South West constituency.

READ | State Congress chief Kumari Selja: 'New dawn for Haryana under party'

READ | MASSIVE 98.3% voter turnout in J&K BDC polls, first post Article 370

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water