Maharashtra & Haryana Elections 2019 On October 21; Results On 24th


 The CEC has informed that both states Maharashtra and Haryana will simultaneously occur in a single phase on 21 October 2019 with the counting on Oct 24

Written By Suchitra Karthikeyan | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the state Assembly poll season approaches, the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora on Saturday, has announced the election dates for Maharashtra and Haryana in October, at a press conference.  The CEC has informed that both states will simultaneously occur in a single phase on 21 October 2019. He added that the 288-seat Maharashtra legislative assembly will expire on 9 November and the 90-seat Haryana Legislative Assembly will expire on 2 November. Hence, the EC has decided to conclude the polling by 27 October, with the counting of polls to be done on 24 October.

READ | ECI to announce dates for upcoming Maharashtra, Haryana elections

Here is the detailed schedule:

  • Issue of notification for both states - 27 September
  • last date of nomination - 4 October
  • Scrutiny of nomination -5 October
  • Withdrawal of nomination- 7 October
  • Polling date for both states - 21 October (Single phase)
  • Counting of votes - 24 October
  • Conclusion of polls - 27 October

READ | Maharashtra Polls: Sena leader says 'alliance with BJP a certainty'

CEC's other poll announcement

Arora also informed that the parties in Maharashtra had wanted the polls to be concluded by Dhanteras. Informing about the registered voters, he said that Haryana has 1.82 crore registered voters and Maharashtra has 8.94 crore voters. Interaction with election observers on Monday scheduled, as said by the CEC. Apart from this, the schedule for by-elections in 64 constituencies in various states was also announced during the press conference. 

READ | Maharashtra Elections: AICC appoints five regional Election in-charge

Maharashtra Legislative Assembly polls

Maharashtra which has 288 Assembly seats will go to polls in 21 October 2019. Currently, the BJP holds 122 seats, while the Shiv Sena holds 63 seats. The Opposition held by UPA has 42 seats. Earlier in May, the BJP-Shiv Sena allaince won 41 seats while the UPA was reduced to merely 5 seats. 

READ | PM Modi hails Maharashtra's courageous warriors, names Veer Savarkar

Haryana Legislative Assembly polls

Haryana is set to go to polls on 21 October 2019. The current Manohar Lal Khattar-led BJP government holds a single-party majority of 47 seats in the  90 seat Legislative Assembly. The opposition comprising of Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Independent members hold 27 seats. The current Assembly will expire on 2 November 2019.

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water