Maharashtra Exit Poll: BJP's Rahul Narvekar Projected To Win In Colaba


The fight for the Colaba assembly seat will be between the BJP's Rahul Narvekar and the Congress' Ashok Jagtap. Here's what the Exit Poll projects

Written By Jay Pandya | Mumbai | Updated On:

With the Maharashtra assembly polls concluding on Monday, all eyes are on who will emerge victorious when votes are counted on Thursday. Ahead of that, Republic-Jan Ki Baat's Exit Poll has brought viewers the most accurate projection of what to expect on October 24. The fight for the Colaba assembly seat will be between the Bharatiya Janata Party's Rahul Narvekar and the Congress' Ashok Jagtap. Here is what the Exit poll projects:

Colaba Assembly seat

BJP's Rahul Narvekar is projected to win over Congress leader Ashok Arjunrao Alias Bhai Jagtap and six other candidates which include Jitendra Kamble from Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) and Arjun Rukhe from the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Rahul Narvekar switched to the BJP right before filing his nomination from Colaba on October 4. Both Jagtap and Narvekar are currently members of the legislative council. 

2014 Assembly election result

The Colaba constituency in Maharashtra is a key and prominent seat in the Maharashtra assembly elections, which was, in 2014, won by Raj K Purohit, by defeating Pandurang Sakpal of Shiv Sena. 15 candidates contested the elections for the seat. In the previous election, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance earned 185 seat majority in the Assembly, while the Congress and the NCP won 42 and 41 seats respectively.

Huge win projected for NDA

NDA is projected to secure in the range of 216 to 230 seats with reigning BJP laying hold of a significant number with 135 to 142 seats on its own followed by its ally Shiv Sena, which is predicted to secure 81 to 88 seats in Maharashtra. Sharad Pawar's NCP is predicted to grab 30 to 35 seats. Meanwhile, Congress is estimated to contribute 20 to 24 seats to the UPA alliance. The counting of votes and final results will be declared on October 24. The term of the Devendra Fadnavis-led current Maharashtra Assembly will end on 9 November.

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll projects huge win for BJP-Sena; disaster for UPA

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll: Aaditya Thackeray projected for debut Worli win

The methodology of Exit Poll

The survey is done using Jan Ki Baat Probability Map Of Outcome model (PMOO) which is backed by issue wise location matrix. The sample is geo-strategically selected through purposive sampling with weighted consideration to caste,  and demography factors. These factors are taken into consideration while selecting the sample and the polling booth  Data is collected through a network of verified field investigators, data analysts. It's a ground-based scientific exercise covering every assembly seat.

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll: BJP's Sunil Deshmukh projected to win Amravati

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll projects Kothrud win for BJP's Chandrakant Patil

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water