Maharashtra Exit Poll: Mahadeshwar Projected To Win Bandra East


In the Bandra East Assembly seat, the current Mayor of Mumbai and Shiv Sena candidate Vishwanath Mahadeshwar is projected to win defeating Congress candidate

Written By Shubhayan Bhattacharya | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the electoral process for Maharashtra Assembly polls concluded on October 21, the predictions of Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat exit poll reckon a landslide victory for the saffron alliance of Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena. In the Bandra East Assembly seat, the current Mayor of Mumbai and Shiv Sena candidate Vishwanath Pandurang Mahadeshwar is projected to win. The Congress has fielded Zeeshan Baba Siddique from here. A total of 13 candidates are in the fray in Bandra East including MNS's Akhil Anil Chitre.

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll Projects Huge Win For BJP-Sena; Disaster For UPA

Bandra East: Urban, unreserved constituency

Bandra East seat is situated in the Mumbai-Thane region's Mumbai Suburban district of Mumbai North-Central Lok Sabha constituency. This is an urban, unreserved constituency with over 2.4 lakh eligible voters, of which 1.3 lakh are male and 1.1 lakh female. The seat is currently held by Nitesh Narayan Rane, who was elected in 2014 on a Congress ticket by defeating the BJP candidate Jathar Pramod Shantaram. Bandra East constituency comprises of three wards of the Greater Mumbai Municipal Corporation. The sitting MLA Prakash Sawant is also from the Sena.

2014 polls

Prakash Sawant won by a margin of 15,597 votes (12.52%), defeating BJP candidate Krishna Dhondu Parkar. Shiv Sena had a vote share of 33.22% in 2014. In that election, there were 18 candidates in the fray and Bandra East registered a turnout of 47.22%.

Who is Vishwanath Pandurang Mahadeshwar?

Vishwanath Pandurang Mahadeshwar is the serving Mayor of Mumbai since 2017. He had also served as chairman of the BMC's education committee and was a member of the civic body's standing committee. He belongs to the Wani community.

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll: BJP's Sunil Deshmukh Projected To Win Amravati

Mahayuti to gain, UPA to dawdle

The Mahayuti alliance is projected to secure seats in the range of 216 to 230 with incumbent BJP laying hold of a significant majority with 135 to 142 seats. This will be followed by ally Shiv Sena, who is predicted to secure 81 to 88 seats in Maharashtra. Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party is predicted to grab 30 to 35 seats. Meanwhile, Congress is estimated to contribute 20 to 24 seats to the UPA alliance.

Meanwhile, as per Jan ki Baat projections, AIMIM is likely to secure a sole seat in Mumbai's Byculla where Waris Pathan is seeking to retain his seat. Others are predicted to win eight to 12 seats in Maharashtra and Raj Thackeray's MNS is projected to be empty-handed. As per the predictions, BJP is like to secure 33% of vote share, followed by ally Shiv Sena with 24%. Sharad Pawar's NCP predicted to secure 15% vote share and Congress lags behind with 11%. While Others are predicted to win 10% of vote share, AIMIM to secure 2% and MNS left with only 1%.

Maha exit poll

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll: INC's Ashok Chavan Projected To Retain Bhokar

Seat share

  • BJP - 135 to  142
  • Shiv Sena- 81  to 88
  • INC- 24 to 20
  • NCP -35 to 30
  • Others- 12 to 8
  • MNS -  0
  • AIMIM - 0 to 1

Vote share

  • Bjp 33%
  • Shiv Sena 24%
  • INC 11%
  • NCP 15%
  • Independent-10%
  • AIMIM- 2%
  • MNS-1%
  • Others-4%

The results for the Assembly elections will be announced by the Election Commission on October 24 (Thursday).

READ | Haryana Exit Poll Projection: BJP To Win 2/3 Seats, Vadra-Cong Routed

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water