Maharashtra Exit Poll: NCP's Ajit Pawar Likely To Win Baramati Contest


In Baramati, Nationalist Congress Party's Ajit Anantrao Pawar is projected to win, leaving BJP's candidate Gopichand Kundlik and others on the losing side

Written By Prachi Mankani | Mumbai | Updated On:

With the Maharashtra assembly elections taking place on Monday, Republic-Jan Ki Baat's Exit Poll has brought viewers the most accurate prediction of what to expect on October 24 when counting of votes takes place. The projection is based on extensive and statistically significant on-ground sapling on voting-day.

In Baramati, Nationalist Congress Party's Ajit Pawar is likely to win leaving Bhartiya Janata Party's Gopichand Kundlik Padalkar and others on the losing side. Ajit Pawar in 2014 won in the Baramati seat by defeating the BJP candidate by a margin of 89791 votes which was 39.31% of the total votes polled in the constituency. NCP had a vote share of 65.92% in 2014 in the seat.

2014 Assembly Polls Result

In the previous Maharashtra assembly election in 2014, the BJP, Shiv Sena, Congress, and NCP won 122, 63, 42 and 41 seats respectively. The BJP-Shiv Sena combine earned 185 seat majority in the Assembly. For the Congress and the NCP, the 2014 election turned out to be a disastrous one. 

However, in the 2014 elections, the BJP and Shiv Sena did not align before the elections, but it did not have any impact on BJP who the highest number of seats, forcing the Shiv Sena to join hands with the party.  

READ: Maharashtra Opinion Poll: BJP projected for single-majority on its own

BJP projected to win in Maharashtra

As per the Republic-Jan Ki Baat exit polls NDA is projected to secure seats in the range of 216 to 230 seats with BJP laying hold of a significant majority with 135 to 142 seats. Followed by ally Shiv Sena, which is predicted to secure 81 to 88 seats in Maharashtra Sharad Pawar's NCP is predicted to grab 30 to 35 seats. Meanwhile, Congress is estimated to contribute 20 to 24 seats to the UPA alliance. 

READ: Maharashtra Opinion polls: BJP projected to win from Colaba

Maharashtra assembly polls

In Maharashtra, where the 'Mahayuti' alliance of BJP, Shiv Sena and smaller parties is against the 'Maha-agadhi' led by the Congress and the NCP.  In the 288-member Assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party is contesting on 164 seats, which includes candidates of smaller allies. Shiv Sena has fielded 126 candidates. Congress, on the other hand, has candidates in 147 constituencies and NCP will contest 121 seats.

READ: Haryana Opinion poll: Region-wise analysis as BJP projected to win

READ:Maharashtra Opinion Poll: BJP's projected edge over Cong in Shirpur


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water