Maharashtra Exit Poll: NCP's Chhagan Bhujbal Likely To Retain Yevla


In Yevla Assembly seat, former deputy Chief Minister and Nationalist Congress Party MLA Chhagan Bhujbal is likely to retain his seat defeating Sena candidate.

Written By Shubhayan Bhattacharya | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the electoral process for Maharashtra Assembly polls concluded on October 21, the predictions of Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat exit poll project a landslide victory for the saffron alliance of Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena. In the Yevla Assembly seat, former deputy Chief Minister and Nationalist Congress Party MLA Chhagan Bhujbal is likely to retain his seat defeating Shiv Sena's Sambhaji Sahebrao Pawar for the second time. A total of eight candidates are in the fray in Yevla including Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA)'s Algat Sachin Vasantrao.

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll Projects Huge Win For BJP-Sena; Disaster For UPA

Yevla: Rural, unreserved constituency

Yevla seat is situated in the North Maharashtra region's Nashik district of Dindori Lok Sabha constituency. This is a rural, unreserved constituency with over 2.9 lakh eligible voters, of which 1.5 lakh are male and 1.3 lakh female. The seat is currently held by Chhagan Bhujbal, who was re-elected in 2014 by defeating Sena's Sambhaji Sahebrao Pawar. Yevla constituency comprises of Yevla and Niphad taluka as well as revenue circle – Lasalgaon and Deogaon of Nashik district.

2014 incumbent

Chhagan Bhujbal won by a margin of 46,442 votes (23.95%), defeating Shiv Sena candidate Sambhaji Sahebrao Pawar. NCP had a vote share of 58.17% in 2014. In that election, there were 14 candidates in the fray and Yevla registered a turnout of 70.74%.

Who is Chhagan Bhujbal?

Chhagan Bhujbal is the former deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra (1999-2003). He was re-elected from his seat two times. He has held Ministership of Public Works, Home Affairs and Guardian Minister of Nashik district. Bhujbal is an Other Backward Class (OBC) leader. He started his political career with the Shiv Sena but left the party in 1991.

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll: BJP's Sunil Deshmukh Projected To Win Amravati

Mahayuti to gain, UPA to dawdle

The Mahayuti alliance is projected to secure seats in the range of 216 to 230 with incumbent BJP laying hold of a significant majority with 135 to 142 seats. This will be followed by ally Shiv Sena, who is predicted to secure 81 to 88 seats in Maharashtra. Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party is predicted to grab 30 to 35 seats. Meanwhile, Congress is estimated to contribute 20 to 24 seats to the UPA alliance.

As per the predictions, BJP is like to secure 33% of vote share, followed by ally Shiv Sena with 24%. Sharad Pawar's NCP predicted to secure 15% vote share and Congress lags behind with 11%. While Others are predicted to win 10% of vote share, AIMIM to secure 2% and MNS left with only 1%.

Maha exit poll

READ | Maharashtra Exit Poll: INC's Ashok Chavan Projected To Retain Bhokar

Seat share

  • BJP - 135 to  142
  • Shiv Sena- 81  to 88
  • INC- 24 to 20
  • NCP -35 to 30
  • Others- 12 to 8
  • MNS -  0
  • AIMIM - 0 to 1

Vote share

  • Bjp 33%
  • Shiv Sena 24%
  • INC 11%
  • NCP 15%
  • Independent-10%
  • AIMIM- 2%
  • MNS-1%
  • Others-4%

The results for the Assembly elections will be announced by the Election Commission on October 24 (Thursday).

READ | Haryana Exit Poll Projection: BJP To Win 2/3 Seats, Vadra-Cong Routed

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water