Randeep Surjewala: 'Everyone's Ego Breaks, BJP's Ego Will Also Break'


Senior Congress leader Randeep Surjewala on Monday, after casting his vote stated that "I think everyone's ego gets broken. BJP's ego will also break."

Written By Manjiri Chitre | Mumbai | Updated On:

Senior Congress leader Randeep Surjewala on Monday, urging people to vote for his constituency, stated that "Development will win, 'goondaism' will end, crime will end and you will find that not only Haryana will move towards progress and development, but also Kaithal will move towards it." Speaking about the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Surjewala said, "I think everyone's ego gets broken. BJP's ego will also break. Society needs to decide, not just some individuals."

The Congress leader is contesting the Assembly elections from Kaithal constituency against former Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) turned Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) politician Leela Ram Gujjar. In the 2014 Haryana assembly elections, Surjewala defeated Kailash Bhagat of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) by winning 65,524 votes as against Bhagats 41,849 votes. However, according to reports, he faced embarrassment as he had been fielded in the Jind assembly bypoll in 2018 as his party desired a strong candidate, but lost.

Surjewala likely to lose?

As per Republic-Jan Ki Baat's Opinion poll based on the on-ground surveys ahead of the elections held on October 17, the Kaithal seat is likely to witness BJP's Leela Ram beating Surjewala of Congress to win the Kaithal constituency, after Surjewala holding the seat for two terms.

Read: Haryana: Congress' Randeep Surjewala projected to lose in Kaithal

Read: 'Priyanka Gandhi storm of change': UP Congress chief

Harayana Assembly polls

The polling for the 90-seats Haryana Assembly elections has started at 7 am and continue till 6 pm on Monday. The counting will be done on October 24. According to reports, the state of Haryana has tightened security with more than 40,000 police personnel and over 13,000 paramilitary personnel. Along with this, more than 20,000 Home Guards and Special Police Officers have been  deployed. The ruling BJP is contesting against the opposition Congress and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP). According to reports, over 1.83 crore voters have been registered for voting, including around 85 lakh women and over 250 transgenders. Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar who is contesting from Karnal has set a target of 75 seats out of the total 90 assembly seats. BJP had won 48 seats last time, while Congress won 17 seats. 

Read: Maharashtra: Congress' Nana Patole projected to lose Sakoli election

Read:PM Modi targets Congress for ridiculing abrogation of Article 370

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water