This Bollywood Star Is Staying Up All Night & Watching Lok Sabha Election Results From Los Angeles. Guess Who?


"Tonight is going to be special," said this Bollywood actress who is excited to watch Lok Sabha Election results 2019. Here's who she is -

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Updated On:

The D-Day is here! Or rather E-Day is here! Which party will form the government? Who will be our next Prime Minister? The answers to these questions, that have been on for many months now, will finally be answered on Thursday. 

Actress Preity Zinta too can't keep calm and is currently keeping herself updated while she is in Los Angeles. She took to her Twitter and wrote: "Tonight is going to be special cuz I’m staying up all night to watch the #Indianelectionresults #lanights #ting" [sic]

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken an early lead as counting of the ballot for the 542 Lok Sabha seats gathered pace across the country began on Thursday.

The BJP was leading in 294 seats while the Indian National Congress was placed second in the list with 50 seats according to officials trends of 541 constituencies.

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP is surging on 39 seats, while BSP and SP are ahead on eight and two seats, respectively. Congress is leading on one seat out of the total 80, maximum for a state in the country.

BJP is leading in 22 seats and Congress in 2 out of the total 26 seats in Gujarat, the home state of Prime Minister Modi.

Shiv Sena was leading on 13 seats, while Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam was ahead on 13, at 9:30 am.

Other parties such as Shiromani Akali Das, Mizo National Front and Jammu and Kashmir National Conference are leading in one seat.

According to early trends, Congress president Rahul Gandhi is leading in Kerala's Wayanad constituency by over 5,000 votes.UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi is also leading from Uttar Pradesh's Raebareli.

Congress leader Digvijaya Sigh is trailing behind BJPs Praygya Thakur by over 3,000 votes in Bhopal. Besides, Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna and Vivek Tankha from Jabalpur are trailing.

In the national capital, BJP's Ramesh Bidhuri is leading from South Delhi and BJP's Parvesh Verma is ahead from West Delhi.

The Lok Sabha polls that commenced on April 11 and wrapped up on May 19, saw approximately 900 million voters exercising their franchise and deciding the fate of 7,928 candidates across 542 seats in the country. Out of those candidates, 724 were women and four were transgenders.

(With inputs from ANI)

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water