Two Leaders From Mayawati's BSP Join Congress In The Presence Of UPCC President Raj Babbar In Uttar Pradesh

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

Former Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MP Kaiser Jahan and a former MLA of the same party, Jasmir Ansari, on Monday joined the Congress along with their supporters in the presence of UPCC president Raj Babbar in Lucknow, a party spokesperson said.

Kaiser Jahan, former Sitapur MP, and Jasmir Ansari, former Laharpur MLA, expressed their faith in the leadership of party president Rahul Gandhi and the policies of the party, spokesman Brijendra Kumar Singh said.

Welcoming them into the party fold, Raj Babbar said the Congress will form the government at the centre after winning the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

A Congress government at the centre will ensure the rights of the youth, farmers, labourers and traders, and pave the way for establishing an atmosphere in which all could feel safe and secure, he added.

Mr Jahan and Mr Ansari had earlier met AICC in-charge of UP-East Priyanka Gandhi in Delhi and joined the Congress on Monday after quitting the BSP, Mr Singh said. Retired IPS officer Aftab Ahmed Khan and Chamber of Commerce vice-chairman Surendra Kumar also joined the party, Mr Singh said.

Read: UNBELIEVABLE: Now, Opposition Asks Modi Government Why Rafale Hasn't Been Inducted Yet; 'better Explain This Lapse', Says Mayawati

Earlier on Monday, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati questioned BJP for neglecting the issue of 'country's safety and security'. Taking to Twitter, BSP leader asked for an explanation from the government as to why 'not a single Rafale jet' was inducted into IAF despite PM Modi's "claims" about its usefulness.  

The statement from Mayawati came a day after she held a strategy session with senior leaders of her party to take a call on the way forward in the backdrop of the terror attacks in the country and the escalation of tension with Pakistan. She alleged that PM Modi is "hiding failures" behind terror attacks.

Meanwhile, the SP and BSP are contesting the parliamentary elections in three states - Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand - which account for 110 seats in the Lok Sabha.Though she has not yet formally announced the names of BSP candidates, the party will contest in 38 of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh and its ally SP will contest in 37 seats as per the understanding reached between them.

(With inputs from PTI)