VIRAL PICTURE: Did Google CEO Sundar Pichai Cast His Vote In Tamil Nadu? Here's The Truth


Google CEO Sundar Pichai's picture goes viral for the wrong reasons. Read here

Written By Chetna Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:

As India enters its Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019, superstars Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan, Suriya, Vijay, Ajith Kumar, Dhanush and many more came to the polling booths in Tamil Nadu to cast their vote.

And just like that, Google CEO Sundar Pichai's picture also started trending on Twitter saying 'Google CEO, @sundarpichai has casted his vote. #TNElection2019 #OruviralPuratchi" [sic]

Here's the post that got over 600 likes on social media.

Instantly fans started calling it fake and requested everyone to not circulate it. What is the truth? The above picture is more than two years old from Pichai's visit to his alma mater Indian Institute of Technology - Kharagpur (IITK) in West Bengal.

Yes, the Google CEO was born in Tamil Nadu but he holds a dual citizenship and India doesn't permit citizens with dual citizenship to cast their vote in any Indian elections.

This is not the first time when something fake went viral during elections. During Phase 1 on April 11, Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone's picture wearing saffron scarves with 'Vote for BJP' slogan also started circulating. The picture infact was from their visit to Siddhi Vinayak temple last year after their marriage.

READ | Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone's photoshopped image promoting 'Vote For BJP' goes viral, here's the truth

Coming back to Elections 2019, With 95 seats, 1619 candidates and 179880 polling booths at disposition the states that will go to polls on Thursday are - 

Assam (5 seats), Bihar (5 seats), Chhattisgarh (3 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (2 seats), Karnataka (14 seats), Maharashtra (10 seats), Manipur (1 seat), Odisha (5 seats), Tamil Nadu (38 seats), Uttar Pradesh (8 seats), West Bengal(3 seats) and Puducherry (1 seat).

The list does not account for Tamil Nadu's Vellore and Tripura East constituency.

The polls will see seats from where high profile candidates are contending: 

Deve Gowda (JD), BK Hariprasad (Congress), PC Mohan (BJP), Yashwant Singh (BJP), Raj Babbar (Congress), Hema Malini (BJP), SP Singh Baghel (BJP), Maharaj Kumari Pragya Debburman (Congress), Farooq Abdullah (NC), Syed Mohsin (PDP), Mohammad Salim (CPM), Ashok Chavan (Congress).

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water