After BJP Ministers' Mass Resignation, Jammu-Kashmir CM Mehbooba Mufti Speaks To Senior BJP Leader, Says She Wants To Continue Alliance: Sources

General News

After BJP Ministers in Jammu-Kashmir resigned, sources have told Republic TV  that Mehbooba Mufti spoke to a senior BJP leader in Delhi seeking more time and saying that she wants to continue the alliance

Written By Shatabdi Chowdhury | Mumbai | Updated On:

After BJP Ministers in Jammu-Kashmir government resigned, sources have told Republic TV  that Mehbooba Mufti spoke to a senior BJP leader in Delhi seeking more time and to convey that she wants to continue the alliance. As per sources, Mehbooba has sought 24 hours to resolve the issues.

READ| All BJP Ministers In Jammu And Kashmir Government To Resign. Details Here

In a massive political development, all the BJP ministers in the Jammu and Kashmir government had resigned.  A decision on whether the BJP will remain in the Mehbooba Mufti-led government will be taken after the resignations, as per sources.

A central minister confirmed the development regarding the resignations to Republic TV, saying that the party (BJP) was to be put first.

The development came mere days after two BJP ministers Lal Singh and Chander Prakash Ganga, who allegedly attended a pro-rapist rally, resigned following public outrage and the Prime Minister's statement that the government of India would go to any lengths to ensure justice for the Kathua and Unnao rape victims.

In the most recent Jammu-Kashmir assembly elections that were held in late 2014, the then Mufti Mohammad Sayeed-led PDP had won 28 seats in the 87-set house, while the BJP had bagged 25 seats. The JKNC, meanwhile, had won 15 seats.

Here are the six BJP ministers in the Jammu and Kashmir government, as per the J&K government's website:

  • Dr. Nirmal Kumar Singh - Deputy Chief Minister & Minister for Power Development and Housing and Urban Development
  • Mr. Bali Bhagat - Minister for Health and Medical Education
  • Mr. Chering Dorjay - Minister for Cooperatives and Ladakh Affairs
  • Mr. Abdul Ghani Kohli - Minister for Animal, Sheep Husbandry and Fisheries
  • Mr. Sunil Kumar Sharma - Minister of State for Transport (Independent charge), Revenue, Public Works (Roads & Buildings), Rural Development & Panchayati Raj, Agriculture Production, YSS
  • Ms. Priya Sethi - Minister of State for Education, Technical Education, Culture, Tourism, Department of Horticulture, Floriculture and Parks
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water