General News

At First Meeting Of Modi Cabinet 2.0, PM-Kisan Yojana Extended To All Poor Farmers; 15 Crore Families Set To Benefit

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • PM Modi's Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana will now cater to over 15 crore farmer families
  • As a part of the scheme, the amount would reach the farmers in three installments of Rs. 2,000 each and will be transferred directly to the bank account of beneficiaries

In the first Cabinet meeting after the allocation of portfolios, Prime Minister Modi's 2.0 government in a historic decision has announced to extend the PM-KISAN scheme to benefit all farmers across the country. 

Addressing the agrarian crisis, PM Modi's Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana will now cater to over 15 crore farmer families as the expansion will benefit landless farmers along with those who have less than 5 acres (2 hectares) of land.

Extension of PM-KISAN scheme-

  • This scheme is a voluntary and contributory pension scheme for all small and marginal farmers (SMF) across the country, with an entry age of 18 to 40 years with a provision of minimum fixed pension of Rs. 3000 on attaining the age of 60 years. 
  • The Central government shall also contribute to the Pension Fund an equal amount as contributed by the eligible farmer. 
  • After the subscriber's death, while receiving a pension, the spouse of the SMF beneficiary shall be entitled to receive 50% of the pension received by the beneficiary as a family pension, provided he/she is not already an SMF beneficiary of the scheme.
  • An interesting feature of the scheme is that the farmers can opt to allow his/her monthly contribution to the scheme to be made from the benefits drawn from the Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi (PM-KISAN) Scheme directly. 
  • The scheme aims to cover minimum of 5 crore small and marginal farmers in the first three years.

Presenting the budget for the year 2019-2020, Union Minister Piyush Goyal in a massive boost to the farming and agricultural sector, announced that the farmers who own up to two hectares of land will be directly provided with an income of Rs 6000 every year.

In PM Modi's first tenure, the government came up with a Pradhan Mantri Kisan Sammaan Nidhi scheme with the motive to provide the small-sized farmers with 'structured, direct income support' so that they don't fall into the clutches of the money lenders.

What is the PM-KISAN scheme? 

The Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana (PM-KISAN) was announced in the interim Budget 2019-20 on February 1, 2019, for marginal farmers having less than 2 hectares of landhold. 

As a part of the scheme, the amount would reach the farmers in three installments of Rs. 2,000 each and will be transferred directly to the bank account of beneficiaries through Direct Benefit Transfer.

The PM-KISAN scheme will be entirely funded by the Centre to assure income assistance to the farmers. 

PM Modi chaired the first Cabinet meeting of his second term on Friday, a day after he along with his Council of Ministers took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

READ| "Our Government’s First Decision Dedicated To Those Who Protect India!," Writes PM Modi As Cabinet Approves Major Changes In PM’s Scholarship Scheme

Here is the Portfolio allocation list of the second consecutive Narendra Modi-led NDA government:

Cabinet Ministers

Prime Minister Narendra Modi: Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space,

  • Rajnath Singh: Minister of Defence
  • Amit Shah: Minister of Home Affairs
  • Nitin Gadkari: Minister of Road Transport and Highways, Minister of Water Resources, MSMEs
  • DV Sadananda Gowda: Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
  • Nirmala Sitharaman: Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs
  • Ram Vilas Paswan: Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
  • Narendra Singh Tomar: Minister of Minister of Rural Development, Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Minister of Panchayati Raj
  • Ravi Shankar Prasad: Minister of Law and Justice, and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology, Minister of Communications 
  • Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Minister of Food Processing Industries
  • Thaawarchand Gehlot: Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
  • S Jaishankar: Minister of External Affairs
  • Ramesh Pokhriyal: Minister of HRD
  • Arjun Munda: Minister of Tribal Affairs
  • Smriti Irani: Minister of Women and Child Development, Minister of Textiles 
  • Prakash Javadekar: Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Environment, Forest and Climate change
  • Harsh Vardhan: Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Minister of Science and Technology, Minister of Earth Sciences
  • Piyush Goyal: Minister of Railways, Commerce and Industry
  • Dharmendra Pradhan: Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas and Minister of Steel.
  • Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minister of Minority Affairs.
  • Pralhad Joshi: Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines.
  • Mahendra Nath Pandey: Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.
  • Arvind Ganpat Sawant: Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise.
  • Giriraj Singh: Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries.
  • Gajendra Singh Shekhawat: Minister of Jal Shakti.

READ| PORTFOLIOS LIST OUT: Here's The List Of Ministries That Have Been Allotted In The Modi Cabinet 2.0