Congress Leaders Replaced By BJP MPs As Heads Of 2 Key Panels

General News

Crucial Parliamentary panels like the Standing Committees on Finance and External Affairs headed by Congress MPs saw changes, as they were replaced by BJP MPs

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Updated On:

Two crucial Parliamentary panels, the Standing Committees on Finance and External Affairs, which were headed by Congress MPs in previous Lok Sabha are now chaired by BJP MPs.

Replacements in Standing Committees

The Lok Sabha Secretariat updated the details of Parliament's Standing Committees for the newly constituted 17th Lok Sabha late Friday night. BJP MPs Jayant Sinha and P P Choudhary will head the panels on finance and external affairs respectively. In the previous Lok Sabha, Congress' Veerappa Moily and Shashi Tharoor used to head the two committees. Moily lost the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

READ: Union Minister Confirms Redevelopment Of Parliament To Begin By 2020

Tharoor, who retained his Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat in the last general elections, has now been made the head of the Standing Committee on Information Technology. Former Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi who was a member of the panel on external affairs has now been moved to the Parliamentary panel on Defence, headed by Jual Oram. TMC's Derek O'Brien, who was chairing the committee on transport, tourism and culture has been replaced by erstwhile TDP leader T G Venkatesh, who recently joined BJP. O'Brien is now a member of the panel on Human Resource Development, which BJP's Satya Narayan Jatiya continues to head.

READ: Govt Is All Set To Redevelop The Parliament Central Vista By 2022

MPs appointed to Parliamentary Standing Committee

Here are some other Parliamentarians appointed to other panels:

Apart from the Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor, Congress' Karti Chidambaram, BJP's Sunny Deol & TMC's Mahua Moitra appointed as members of Committee on Information Technology.

Congress' Anand Sharma has also been appointed as the Chairperson of Committee on Home Affairs, while BJP's Jamyang Tsering Namgyal will take position as a member in the same committee.

YSR Congress Party's V Vijaya Sai Reddy, will hold the position of Chairperson of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Commerce. Along with these shuffles, BJP's Jual Oram will now be the new Chairperson of Committee on Defence. Abhishek Singhvi and Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut have been appointed as its members.

READ: Parliament Building Could Become A Museum If A New One Is Built

READ: Congress Forms A Panel Against Uranium Exploration In Telangana


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water