Hindi Diwas To Be Celebrated By Rajasthan Hindi Granth Academy

General News

Rajasthan Hindi Granth Academy is going to celebrate the Hindi Diwas on September 14 by honouring 200 authors and awarding several of them with the Pragya Award

Written By Akriti Tyagi | Mumbai | Updated On:
Hindi Diwas

On occasion of the Hindi Diwas, the Rajasthan Hindi Granth Academy is set to honour 200 authors at its golden jubilee celebrations on September 14. The authors will be felicitated by CM Ashok Gehlot and will be given mementoes and letters. Minister of State for Higher Education, Bhanwar Singh Bhati told reporters that the academy would hold the celebrations at the Birla auditorium.

READ I Hindi Diwas celebrated with fanfare but non-Hindi speakers feel left out

Commemorating Authors 

The Minister explained that three authors will be presented with the Pragya Award, whose 15 editions of books had been published. The authors who will be given the award during the celebrations are Dr Harimohan Saxena, Dr Rita Pratap and Mamta Chaturvedi. Each of them will further be a given a cheque for Rs 51,000. Bhati further said the academy had paid Rs 59 lakh in royalty to its authors.

The Rajasthan Hindi Granth Academy is an academy of firsts. It is the first such academy in the country which was going to honour Hindi writers on such a large scale. Moreover, it was the first such government institution in the country that had sold a record 3.71 crore books in a year. So far, around 1.5 crore books had been sold by the academy this year.

Furthermore, Rajasthan is the first state in the country where the Hindi Granth Academy pays royalty online to authors with complete transparency, the Minister said.

READ I "Veer Savarkar lit the lamp of patriotism in the hearts of crores of people..." says Amit Shah paying tribute to the freedom fighter on his birth anniversary

Talking about the next project, Bhati said that the academy would publish monographs on 143 freedom fighters under the "Swatantrata Sangram ke Amar Purodha Series" of the freedom struggle. These monographs will pertain to freedom fighters who passed away between 2006 and 2019, in the form of a mini-series. 

READ I Independence Day 2019: Yogi Adityanath extends his gratitude to 'freedom fighters who wrote a new saga of sacrifice'

Hindi Diwas

On September 14, in 1949, India had adopted Hindi written in Devanagari script as the official language of the country. The day designates the popularity of the language, which is the 4th most spoken in the world.

To celebrate Hindi Diwas, The Ministry of Home Affairs has planned a number of events. Home Minister Amit Shah will present Rajbhasha Awards to chiefs of various departments, ministries, and offices in the government for their outstanding performances in promoting the language.

READ I Former PM Dr. Manmohan Singh elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water