Is Sushmita Sen Campaigning For BJP's Etawah Candidate For Lok Sabha Elections? Here's What She Said Answering Reports

General News

Sushmita Sen releases a statement on her Twitter account clarifying if she's campaigning for BJP's candidate this Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Written By Chetna Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:

Actress Sushmita Sen rubbishes the reports that were carried by a daily saying that she will campaign for BJP's Etawah candidate Ram Shankar Katheria. 

She took to Twitter and wrote: "FALSE NEWS. I DON’T DO POLITICAL CAMPAIGNING."

For those unaware, Uttar Pradesh is all set to witness the biggest dance of democracy on April 29 with the general elections entering Phase 4. Katheria is contesting against Congress’s Ashok Dohre and Kamlesh Katheria of the Samajwadi Party. Katheria posted the below on his Twitter a few hours back -

The reports also suggest that actress Ameesha Patel will also campaign for in Auraiya district, as said by Jitendra Gaur, party’s media incharge. Patel is yet to respond to the reports.

This is not the first time when a false news amidst the General elections has been circulated. Earlier too, a picture of Google CEO Sundar Pichai went viral saying that he cast his vote on April 23 for the Tamil Nadu Elections. During Phase 1 on April 11, Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone's picture wearing saffron scarves with 'Vote for BJP' slogan also started circulating. The picture infact was from their visit to Siddhi Vinayak temple last year after their marriage.

READ | VIRAL PICTURE: Did Google CEO Sundar Pichai cast his vote in Tamil Nadu? Here's the truth

Meanwhile, here's the schedule of Phase 3 that will happen on April 23.

Phase 3:

Last date of nomination is set to be on April 4

Date for Scrutiny of nominations: April 5

Last date of withdrawal of nominations: April 8

Last date of polling: April 23

Date of counting: May 23

The third phase will see 115 seats from 14 states going into polls:

  • Assam - 4
  • Bihar - 5
  • Chattisgarh - 7
  • Gujarat - 26
  • Goa - 2
  • Jammu and Kashmir - 1
  • Karnataka - 14
  • Kerala - 20
  • Maharashtra - 14
  • Orissa - 6
  • Uttar Pradesh - 10
  • West Bengal - 5
  • Dadar and Nagar Haveli - 1
  • Daman and Diu - 1

READ | Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone's photoshopped image promoting 'Vote For BJP' goes viral, here's the truth 

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water