General News

It's Gloves Off In Uttar Pradesh As Mayawati Accuses Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party For Mahagathbandhan's Failure In 2019 Lok Sabha Polls

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • Mayawati accused Samajwadi Party for loss in Lok Sabha 2019 polls
  • She accused Akhilesh Yadav's party of working against the Mahagathbandhan

Failing to divert the BJP votes towards the SP-BSP Mahagathbandhan in the Lok Sabha 2019 polls, Mayawati has accused the Akhilesh Yadav's SP for the poll defeat in Uttar Pradesh, according to sources. 

With evident cracks in the coalition following the result, as per Republic Media Network sources, BSP supremo has now pinned the blame on the Samajwadi Party for the loss, accused the party leaders for working against the Mahagathbandhan and failing to gain votes at the BSP party meet in the national capital. 

The stability of the Mahagathbandhan was speculated since its inception considering that SP-BSP have been arch enemies in the state.

The SP-BSP contested on equal number of Lok Sabha seats in the state, and fielded candidates on 76 seats, leaving Amethi and Raebareli for the Congress party.

READ| Mandate For Creating New India's New Uttar Pradesh: Yogi Adityanath Says His Government's Focus On Development Helped Him Secure Another Term

Accused for playing opportunistic politics and forming an anti-Modi front, the Magathbandhan of regional parties drew only 15 seats (SP-5 and BSP-10) out of 80 seats in the state. Amid a Modi wave 2.0, the combined vote-share of SP-BSP dropped from 42.2% in Lok Sabha 2014 elections to 37.3% in 2019. 

Whereas, the saffron party won 64 seats, 11 less than 2014 and saw a boost in their vote-share of 42.3% in 2014 to 49.6% in Lok Sabha 2019 elections. While the Congress was confined to just one seat in Rae Bareli that the UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi won. 

Following the loss, Mayawati had also accused the BJP of EVM hacking during the electoral process with EVMs. 

The chemistry between the party workers on field in Ghazipur district was seen on May 13, 10 days before the election result as SP-BSP party workers engaged in a fist fight ahead of the joint rally of SP-BSP-RLD. 

READ| 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: Exactly One Year On, Here's How The 'Jo Humse Takrayega, Woh Choor Choor Ho Jayega' Mahagathbandhan Fared Versus The NDA

In what was called as a massive win for any party in the state of Uttar Pradesh, in 2014 Parliamentary elections, BJP won 71 seats with its ally Apna Dal winning 2 seats, that brought the NDA tally to 73. The Congress faced an embarrassing defeat in the state with getting only 2 seats and the BSP, once the ruling party of the state gained no seats, while the SP was able to save their prestige by bagging 5 seats, mostly in their strongholds.

Controversies and campaigns of Uttar Pradesh

PM Modi who won a second term in office, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls. The elections also marked the entry of his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as an official member of the Congress and being appointed as a General Secretary of UP East. It also marked the coming together of SP-BSP after their alliance experiment in the Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-polls, however failed to create an impact.