Jaipur Included In The List Of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites, PM Narendra Modi Expresses Delight

General News

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) announced Jaipur as a World Heritage site on Saturday, July 6.

Written By Diyali Banerjee | Mumbai | Updated On:

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) announced Jaipur as a World Heritage site on Saturday, July 6. The city which is the capital of Rajasthan, India has been counted in the recent list of World Heritage sites put out by the organization. In a recent Tweet, UNESCO confirmed the same.

Take a look:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi who seemed to be delighted by the news, re-tweeted UNESCO's post and talked about how Jaipur, a city associated with culture, is known for its hospitality and draws people from all over the world.

"Jaipur is a city associated with culture and valour. Elegant and energetic, Jaipur’s hospitality draws people from all over. Glad that this city has been inscribed as a World Heritage Site by @UNESCO," he wrote in the post.  

Here's the post:

The decision was taken by the World Heritage Committee during UNESCO's 43rd session held in Baku, the capital of Azerbaijan, (from June 30 to July 10) under the chair of Abulfas Garayev, Minister of Culture of Azerbaijan.

The committee reportedly examined 35 nominations for inscription on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Besides Jaipur, places like Megalithic Jar Sites in Xiengkhuang – Plain of Jars, Lao People's Democratic Republic; Mozu-Furuichi Kofun Group: Mounded Tombs of Ancient Japan; Ombilin Coal Mining Heritage of Sawahlunto, Indonesia; Archaeological Ruins of Liangzhu City, China; Budj Bim Cultural Landscape, Australia and Dilmun Burial Mounds, Bahrain are also included in the list. 

Here's the list of places in India that are inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage Site:


  • Agra Fort (1983)
  • Ajanta Caves (1983)
  • Archaeological Site of Nalanda Mahavihara at Nalanda, Bihar (2016)
  • Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi (1989)
  • Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park (2004)
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus) (2004)
  • Churches and Convents of Goa (1986)
  • Elephanta Caves (1987)
  • Ellora Caves (1983)
  • Fatehpur Sikri (1986)
  • Great Living Chola Temples (1987,2004)
  • Group of Monuments at Hampi (1986)
  • Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram (1984)
  • Group of Monuments at Pattadakal (1987)
  • Hill Forts of Rajasthan (2013)
  • Historic City of Ahmadabad (2017)
  • Humayun's Tomb, Delhi (1993)
  • Khajuraho Group of Monuments (1986)
  • Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya (2002)
  • Mountain Railways of India (1999,2005,2008)
  • Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi (1993)
  • Rani-ki-Vav (the Queen’s Stepwell) at Patan, Gujarat (2014)
  • Red Fort Complex (2007)
  • Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka (2003)
  • Sun Temple, Konârak (1984)
  • Taj Mahal (1983)
  • The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement (2016)
  • The Jantar Mantar, Jaipur (2010)
  • Victorian Gothic and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai (2018)


  • Great Himalayan National Park Conservation Area (2014)
  • Kaziranga National Park (1985)
  • Keoladeo National Park (1985)
  • Manas Wildlife Sanctuary (1985)
  • Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks (1988,2005)
  • Sundarbans National Park (1987)
  • Western Ghats (2012)


  • Khangchendzonga National Park (2016)



By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water