Karnataka Crisis: Action Shifts To Goa As Rebel JD(S)-Congress MLAs Leave From Mumbai's Sofitel Hotel

General News

While the Karnataka government is still in shambles, the rebel MLAs of the JD(S)-Congress coalition government Goa as the scene of action on the fate CM HD Kumaraswam

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Updated On:

While the Karnataka government is still in shambles, the rebel MLAs of the JD(S)-Congress coalition government Goa as the scene of action on the fate CM HD Kumaraswamy

The MLAs, including 10 of Congress, two of JD(S) and two Independents, left for Goa in the evening and are being accompanied by Mohit Bhartiya, president of the Mumbai BJP Yuva Morcha, sources said.

Maharashtra BJP legislator Prasad Lad said the 14 MLAs left Mumbai's Sofitel Hotel where they were put up, at 5 PM. They are expected to stay at a resort in Goa, PTI sources said. 

Both JD(S) and Congress leaders have repeatedly accused the BJP of horsetrading in the state, which has been categorically denied by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh in the Parliament on Monday, moreover BJP's Lucknow MP taking a dig at the former Congress president said that the resignation row was started by the Rahul Gandhi himself.

STINGING: Watch As Sonia Gandhi And Rahul Gandhi Confer As Rajnath Singh Says 'Rahul Started Resignation Trend' About Karnataka Crisis 

Twelve MLAs arrived in Mumbai on Saturday evening and two had reached Mumbai Monday. Karnataka's year-old Congress-Janata Dal (S) coalition government is on the brink of collapse after the spate of resignations by the MLAs.

Here's how the numbers will change:

Initial scenario: The Karnataka assembly has 225 members, including one nominated MLA. 113 is the halfway mark in the 225-member assembly. Before the resignation spree, the ruling Congress-JD(S) had 115 MLAs with 78 MLAs of the Congress party and 37 of Kumaraswamy's JD(S). Meanwhile, the BJP had 105 MLAs. With the support of nominated MLA, an Independent MLA, an MLA each from BSP and the Karnataka Prajnyavantha Janatha Party, the Congress-JD(S) coalition reached the mark of 119 MLAs in an assembly which crossed the halfway mark of 113, following which Kumaraswamy took the oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. 

READ| Amid Karnataka Crisis, Congress Urges State Assembly Speaker To Not Accept Resignations Of The 13 Cong-JD(S) MLAs

Current Scenario: On Saturday, 13 Congress-JD(S) MLAs had resigned including 1 Independent. The JD(S)-Congress coalition’s total strength came down to 117 after (Congress-78, JD(S)-37, BSP-1 and Independents-1) after Nagesh withdrew his support from the government, besides the Speaker.

If the resignations of the 13 Congress-JD(S) MLAs are accepted by the Speaker, the Congress-JD(S) coalition’s numbers will come down to 104, besides the vote of the Speaker. If the Speaker accepts the 13 resignations, the Karnataka Legislative Assembly will come down to 212 out of 225, which will leave the half-way mark to 106.

Now, Yeddyurappa claims that BJP has the support of the two Independent MLAs Nagesh and R Shankar, who stepped down earlier in the day, which increases BJP's tally to 107, wherein the saffron party can form the government in the state.

(With PTI inputs) 

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water