Nitish Kumar, Sushil Modi Take Indirect Jibe At Giriraj Singh

General News

After Amit Shah declared that NDA to contest the 2020 Bihar Vidhan sabha elections under the leadership of Nitish Kumar, leadership debate has been put to rest.

Written By Prakash Singh | Mumbai | Updated On:

After BJP President and Union Home Minister Amit Shah declared that the NDA would contest the 2020 Bihar Vidhan sabha elections under the leadership of Nitish Kumar, the leadership debate has been put to rest. This statement of Amit shah was a setback to the detractors of Nitish Kumar, with the likes of Giriraj Singh, Sanjay Paswan and many others of the BJP. At an election rally in Samastipur, Bihar, while campaigning for Prince Raj, nephew of Ramvilas Paswan, Nitish Kumar took an indirect jibe at Union Minister Giriraj Singh. 

Nitish Kumar takes an indirect jibe at Giriraj Singh 

Nitish Kumar while addressing a public meeting said "NDA is intact in Bihar. BJP, JDU, LJP, are working together for the development of the State. But there are few leaders who are trying to create confusion by making a statement. They are just publicity-hungry and want to remain in news headlines. You should not bother about them. We are United and we will develop Bihar together."

Read: Nitish Kumar govt to disburse ₹6,000 to flood victims in Bihar

Sanjay Paswan's statement

A month ago, Sanjay Paswan a former Union Minister and legislator of the BJP had mentioned that in 2020, someone from the BJP should be projected as the CM face and Nitish Kumar should leave the Chair. Giriraj Singh had also echoed similar sentiments and had been attacking Nitish Kumar quite often over the deaths of children due to encephalitis and the recent deluge in Patna. In order to avoid confusion within the alliance, Sushil Modi tweeted that "NDA will contest the 2020 Bihar assembly election under the captaincy of Nitish Kumar. Both Giriraj and Sanjay Paswan had termed Sushil Modi's statement as his personal statement but not party line.

Sushil Modi attacks 

The Deputy CM of Bihar Sushil Modi, through a tweet attacked not only his detractors like Giriraj Singh and Sanjay Paswan but also the RJD. Sushil Modi said, "those trying to create confusion within BJP and JDU, and grab power, failed in their masterplan, after the declaration of BJP national president Amit Shah, that Nitish Kumar would lead the NDA  in 2020 Bihar assembly election."

Read: Nitish Kumar left stranded by BJP leaders, claims Tejaswi Yadav

Both Giriraj Singh and Sanjay Singh remained silent when we tried contacting him. This statement of Amit shah that JDU-BJP alliance is 'Atal' and Nitish Kumar would be the CM face in 2020 assembly election has re-established Sushil Modi's leadership in Bihar BJP. Amit Shah has repeated what Sushil Modi had announced on the floor of the Bihar Vidhan sabha, 4 months back.

Read: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar re-elected as JD(U) president unopposed


Nitish had parted ways with the BJP in 2013, ending a 17-year-old alliance after Narendra Modi was declared the campaign committee chief of BJP for 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Both the parties again reunited in 2017. In 2010, JDU had contested on 141 seats and BJP on 102 seats out of 243 seats in Bihar assembly elections. But in 2019 Lok Sabha elections BJP and JDU contested on 16 seats each, leaving the remaining 6 seats for the LJP. JDU and BJP  had fought against each other in 2015 assembly elections and BJP was defeated badly. 

BJP leadership realises the strength of Nitish Kumar's penetration within 35-40% of EBC and OBC voters and together they can be invincible.  Many BJP leaders both at the central and state leadership level feel that they cannot play second fiddle to Nitish Kumar in assembly elections and the formula of equal seat sharing like Lok Sabha elections should be repeated. But Nitish Kumar wants to contest at least 20 seats more than the BJP in assembly elections. Leadership issue may have settled in Bihar, but the seat adjustments still remains the bone of contention. But the BJP  JDU  alliance will decimate the opposition like they did in 2010 when NDA won 206 out of 243 seats. 

Read: Tejashwi Yadav: 'Nitish responsible for Patna floods, not engineers'

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water