General News

PM Modi To Hold All-party Leaders' Meet Over 'One Nation-One Poll', Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, Mayawati, KCR, Stalin & Kejriwal To Give It A Miss

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • Top Opposition party leaders will be skipping PM Modi's 'One Nation, One Election' meeting in the Parliment
  • The leaders of the Opposition parties will be meeting at 10:30 AM on Wednesday in the Parliament to discuss various issues. 

Top Opposition regional party leaders will be skipping the all-party president meet, chaired by PM Narendra Modi to push his manifesto promise of 'One nation, one election.'

Leaders including the Congress party chief Rahul Gandhi, Trinamool supremo Mamata Banerjee, TRS president K. Chandrashekar Rao, DMK chief MK Stalin, TDP president Chandrababu Naidu and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal will be skipping the meeting scheduled on Wednesday. 

The leaders of the Opposition parties will be meeting at 10:30 AM on Wednesday in the Parliament to discuss various issues. 

WATCH: Ahead Of 17th Lok Sabha's First Sitting, PM Modi Says, "In Parliament, We Should Forget About Paksh-vipaksh And Think About Issues With Nishpaksh Spirit"

PM Modi has frequently spoken in favor of 'one nation-one poll', which has been pitched by the government ever since coming to power. He stated that it is the need of the hour due to a various number of issues.

"In India, elections take place almost every six months, hence I say that we should have Lok Sabha and state elections at the very same time. One election in every five years, isn't this what should happen? Shouldn't the expenditure be cut or not?," he said in his Agra rally in January.

A day before the first Parliament session of the 17th Lok Sabha, an all-party meeting had been held at the Parliament on Sunday.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Prahlad Joshi and leader of BJP in Rajya Sabha Thawar Chand Gehlot were the first to arrive at the meeting. The other leaders who were in attendance at the meeting were YSCRP leader V Vijayasai Reddy, TMC leader Derek O'Brien, NC Chief Farooq Abdullah, NCP leader Supriya Sule, Apna Dal (Sonelal) Chief Anupriya Patel, AAP leader Sanjay Singh, and TDP leader Jayadev Galla. 

The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha will be convened from June 17 to July 26 during which the Union Budget will be presented by the new government on July 5.

READ| Centre Convenes All-party Meeting In Parliament With Senior Leaders In Attendance Ahead Of First Session Of 17th Lok Sabha