Last Updated:

Forest Minister Javadekar Interacts With 6 States About Eco-sensitive Western Ghats Area

Prakash Javadekar interacted with CMs & other state officials six states to discuss issues relating to notification of ESA pertaining to the Western Ghats.


Union Minister Environment, Forest & Climate Change Prakash Javadekar on Thursday interacted with Chief Ministers, Cabinet Ministers and other state officials of Kerala, Karnataka, Goa, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Tami Nadu via video conference to discuss issues relating to notification of Ecologically Sensitive Area (ESA) pertaining to the Western Ghats.

The Centre had constituted a High-Level Working Group under the Chairmanship of Dr Kasturirangan to conserve and protect the biodiversity of Western Ghats while allowing for sustainable and inclusive development of the region.

'A draft notification was issued in 2018'

"The Committee had recommended that identified geographical areas falling in the six States of Kerala, Karnataka, Goa, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Tamil Nadu may be declared as Ecologically Sensitive Areas. A draft notification was issued in October 2018 mentioning the areas to be notified in the ESA," read the release by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

"States were of the unanimous view that looking into the importance of Western Ghats, there is a need to ensure the protection of the Western Ghats. However, the states expressed their views as regards activities and extent of the area mentioned in the said notification," it said.

The ministry said that it was decided that state-specific issues shall be further deliberated so as to arrive at a consensus on the issue. "The states expressed their desire to expedite early notification while protecting the interest of ecology and environment," read the release.

'The interaction was fruitful'

After the meeting, Javadekar in a tweet said, "The interaction was fruitful as every state expressed its desire to expedite early notification while protecting interests of ecology and environment of Western Ghats."

Meanwhile, Karnataka on Thursday said Prakash Javadekar has agreed to hold discussions with the states individually regarding the implementation of K Kasturirangan committee. "The Chief Minister, expressing the state's opinion, said gram panchayats, taluk panchayats, Zilla panchayats, elected representatives and the Cabinet has rejected the draft notification of ecologically sensitive areas according to Kasturirangan committee report in its present format," the CMO in a statement said.

READ | PM Modi's '5 pillars of Aatmanirbhar Bharat' emphasised by I&B Min Prakash Javadekar

Since every state has different problems and challenges, it is not for the central government to issue an identical notification for all states, the Chief Minister explained, it said.

READ | BJP leader writes to Prakash Javadekar on CPCB's ban on plastic, thermocol in idol making

The Madhav Gadgil Commission, formed in 2010, recommended in its report submitted to the government in August 2011 that 64% of the Western Ghats be declared ecologically sensitive. However, in 2012, the Environment Ministry formed a working group on the Western Ghats under Indian space scientist K Kasturirangan to examine the Gadgil Commission report and recommended 37% of the Ghats be declared ESAs.

READ | Javadekar writes to states & UTs; seeks focus on environmental rules post Covid lockdown

READ | Important to implement environmental rules to sustain gains of lockdown: Javadekar

(With agency inputs)

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water