Shiv Sena's Navi Mumbai Unit Revolts Over Seat-sharing Deal With BJP

General News

Days ahead of Maharashtra polls, Uddhav Thackeray- led Shiv Sena is facing backlash reportedly from its Navi Mumbai unit due to the seat-sharing pact with BJP

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

Days ahead of Maharashtra polls, Uddhav Thackeray- led Shiv Sena is facing backlash reportedly from its own party members due to the seat-sharing pact with the BJP. Though the alliance partners have not yet announced their seat-shares, reports suggest that BJP will be contesting on around 162 seats and Shiv Sena on 126 setas. However, sources said that Sena is facing revolt from its Navi Mumbai unit as Uddhav Thackeray decided to give two seats - Airoli and Belapur - from Navi Mumbai to BJP. Reportedly, the unit has threatened the party of mass resignations. As BJP inducted two NCP leaders - Ganesh Naik and his son, they want them to contest from the seats.

READ| CM Devendra Fadnavis, Aaditya Thackeray spar over Aarey protests

Maharashtra Elections 

Maharashtra which has 288 Assembly seats will go to polls on 21 October 2019, the Election Commission announced on Saturday noon. Maharashtra assembly elections will be held in a single-phase and the counting procedure would be conducted on October 24. The Election Commission chief Sunil Arora also announced that the last date of nomination is on October 4. Arora also informed that the parties in Maharashtra had wanted the polls to be concluded by Dhanteras. 

READ| Uddhav Thackeray lashes out Sharad Pawar for calling off ED visit

Here is the detailed schedule:

  • Issue of notification for both states (Haryana and Maharashtra) - 27 September
  • last date of nomination - 4 October
  • Scrutiny of nomination -5 October
  • Withdrawal of nomination- 7 October
  • Polling date for both states - 21 October (Single phase)
  • Counting of votes - 24 October
  • Conclusion of polls - 27 October

Aaditya Thackeray to contest polls

Being the first from the Thackeray family, Shiv Sena chief's son Aaditya Thackeray will be contesting the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Polls. He has announced that he will contest from the Worli constituency.  If he wins, he will be the first elected member of his family to represent the people. Ever since the Shiv Sena was formed in 1966 by Bal Thackeray, no member of the family had contested any election or held any constitutional post.  

READ | Aaditya Thackeray: 'Development Should Not Be At Cost Of Citizens'

Aaditya Thackeray is currently the President of the party's youth wing, Yuva Sena and has been playing an active role in politics over the last few years. Aaditya has been on a Jan Ashirwad Yatra since July and completed the fourth phase of the yatra on September 18. In the four phases, he has covered 111 assembly constituencies in 25 districts. He is going to begin the fifth phase on Tuesday, October 2 from Nagpur. 

READ| Maharashtra assembly election dates: Voting & Results schedule here

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water