General News

WATCH: Here Are The NDA Leaders Seated On Stage At PM Modi's Swearing-in Ceremony

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

The swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the second consecutive term has begun at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on Thursday, with the guests arriving at the event.

Amid the guests are seated the leaders who are likely to be inducted in PM Modi's Union Cabinet 2.0. Earlier in the day, sources had told Republic TV that 50 ministers are likely to take the oath to the office along with PM Modi, which special chairs arranged for the leaders at the event. 

The visuals show a number of chairs arranged aside of the guests at the event, on which significant leaders of the NDA can be seen seated ahead of the PM Modi's swearing-in with the Cabinet ministers.

BJP chief Amit Shah can also be seen seated on the chairs along with Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Rajnath Singh, Harsimrat Kaur Badal (SAD), Prakash Javdekar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Arvind Sawant (Shiv Sena), Babul Supriyo, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dr Jitender Singh, Ramdas Athavale, former Foreign Secretary S. Jaishankar among other leaders of the National Democratic Alliance.

READ | Modi Cabinet 2.0 Scoop: NDA Allies To Get One Ministerial Berth Each At Swearing-in Ceremony Today; New Ministers To Meet PM Modi At 7LKM Before Oath-taking

Watch the video above.

Top sources had told Republic TV that BJP chief Amit Shah is likely to be appointed as the Union Finance Minister in the new Modi cabinet. The news in the light of a congratulatory tweet posted by Gujarat BJP chief hours before PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony. 

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister and BJP president Amit Shah held a meeting at 7, Lok Kalyana Marg of all the prospective leaders who will be taking oath as Cabinet Minister along with PM Modi today. NDA allies including LJP in Bihar, Shiv Sena in Maharashtra, SAD in Punjab are set to get one ministerial berth each during PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony. As per inputs, further berths will be decided in due course. However, JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar on arriving at the swearing-in ceremony denied of sending one minister from the party to the cabinet, adding that it would have been just symbolic participation.

READ | Here's How Many Ministers There Can Be In The Union Cabinet