2019 Has Finally Arrived! Here's How Top Political Leaders Brought In The Critical Year

Written By Ankit Prasad | Mumbai | Published:

At the dawn of what promises to be the most politically significant year in recent times, political leaders from across the spectrum have wished the people of India a happy new year.

2019 will see all the parties mustering their ranks ahead of the all-important Lok Sabha elections, where the Narendra Modi-led BJP/NDA will attempt to win a repeat of the historic mandate it achieved in 2014. On the other hand the Congress will attempt to make massive gains from a very low base, after it was reduced to its smallest ever representation in the lower house of parliament at the end of 10 years of UPA rule. Regional parties also have plenty at stake, not only at the national level but in many cases at their very doorsteps as a number of assembly elections will also be held this year.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi began 2019 on an upbeat note wishing Indians a joyous 2019:

Congress president Rahul Gandhi also sent in his wish:

A number of chief ministers joined in:

Goa CM Manohar Parrikar sent in his wishes:

So did Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal:

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee sent in a very colourful wish:

Union I&B MoS Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore sent in a video wish and gave an insight into his resolution making process:

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley also sent in his wishes, expressing the hope that it brings good health, happiness and prosperity:

Union minister Smriti Irani's wish was as follows:

Not just public figures -- ISRO also sent in a quite creative wish: