After Daughter Launches Plurals Party, JDU's Vinod Chaudhary Says No JD(U) Support To Her


JD(U)'s former MLC Vinod Chaudhary on Monday stated that the party is not supporting his daughter Pushpam Priya, who created her party called 'Plurals.'

Written By Misha Bhatt | Mumbai | Updated On:

After Janata Dal (United) MLC (Member of Legislative Council) Vinod Choudhary's London-based daughter Pushpam Priya Choudhary declared herself as Chief Ministerial candidate for the upcoming 2020 Bihar Assembly elections, the former MLC clarified that the JD(U) is not supporting her decision, as this comes as a challenge to the top leadership of the party. 

"It is her decision to declare herself as the "Chief Ministerial candidate" and she is educated enough to decide for herself," Vinod Chaudhary stated while interacting with the reporters. 

When asked if the move is supported by JD(U), Chaudhary said, "Why will the party support me. They have no right to support. My daughter is challenging the top leaders of the party."

READ | LJP forms 7-member committee ahead of Bihar Assembly Elections

Pushpam Priya Choudhary launches 'Plurals' party 

Earlier on Sunday, daughter of former MLC Vinod Chaudhary, Pushpam Priya Choudhary had launched her own 'Plurals' party and declared herself as the "Chief Ministerial candidate" for the upcoming Bihar Assembly elections. London-based Priya's announcement was carried by various Hindi and English newspapers in Bihar on Sunday.

She also took to her official Twitter handle and wrote about the need for change in Bihar.

READ | Women MLAs in Bihar Assembly stage protest over their reservation in Parliament

Bihar Elections

In the 2015 assembly polls, CM Nitish Kumar's JDU, then a part of the Mahagathbandhan won 71 seats, Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD won 80 seats, and Congress won 27 seats. The BJP which fought the elections alone after Nitish Kumar, in 2013, broke the 17-year-old alliance, claiming 'external interference' won a mere 53 seats out of 157 contested. However, the party came back to power after Kumar ditched the Mahagathbandhan and once again stitched an alliance with the old ally.  

In 2010 Assembly elections, the JD(U) was the ‘big brother’ and had contested 141 seats, leaving 102 seats for the BJP in the 243 assemblies. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the JD(U) had contested 25 seats and the BJP 15 seats. While Nitish Kumar has already been declared as leader of the NDA for 2020 Bihar assembly elections, it will be interesting to see how the seat-sharing pact of the NDA unfolds. 

READ | Poster war erupts prior to Bihar assembly polls; compares 15 yrs of Lalu vs Nitish

READ | RJD MLC brings caged Rat into Bihar Vidhan Parishad; launches symbolic attack on CM Nitish

(With inputs from ANI)

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water