BIG: After Uttar Pradesh, BSP-SP Extend 'gathbandhan' To Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand; Snub Congress


A joint-statement was released in this regard by BSP supremo Mayawati and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Updated On:

After ending their bitter rivalry and joining hands in Uttar Pradesh for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) have decided to fight together in the states of Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

A joint-statement was released in this regard by BSP supremo Mayawati and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav. The two parties will together fight in 29 seats in Madhya Pradesh, out of which BSP will contest in 26 and SP will contest in three.  As for Uttarakhand, SP-BSP combination will fight in four seats, from which BSP will contest in three and SP in one.

Though, just like the scenario in Uttar Pradesh, the two parties have decided to ignore the Congress party by refusing the opportunity to contest the elections in these two states with them.

Earlier this week, BSP and SP officially announced their seat-sharing formula for Uttar Pradesh. Out of the 78 seats in which they will be contesting together, Akhilesh's SP will fight the elections on 37 seats and Maywati's BSP will fight on 38 seats. The three remaining seats were reserved for the RLD. 

ALSO READ: BSP, SP Announce Seat-sharing In Uttar Pradesh For Lok Sabha 2019 Polls. Details Here

The 'gathbandhan' of Uttar Pradesh had in January made it clear that it will fight only in 78 seats, and leave aside the other two seats - Rae Bareli and Amethi - for the Congress, given the said constituencies are the bastions of the grand old party. 

"We have not included Congress despite knowing that since independence, Congress has only ruled for a long time. Farmers and different sections of society have suffered, corruption was at a high. Congress coming to power and BJP coming to power is tantamount to the same. Both parties have been complicit in Defence scams. First Bofors cost the Congress party its government and now, BJP will suffer a similar fate because of the Rafale scam. Votes don't transfer when allying with Congress, they go to BJP instead, hence we're not including it in our alliance," Mayawati had said while confirming the alliance.

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water