BJP's BS Yediyurappa Takes Oath As Karnataka CM For Second Time, Draws Level With Alter-ego Yeddyurappa


Amid loud cheers and claps, BJP Karnataka chief BS Yediyurappa (earlier spelt as Yeddyurappa) on Friday evening took oath as the new Chief Minister of the state

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Updated On:

Amid loud cheers and claps, BJP Karnataka chief BS Yediyurappa (earlier spelt as Yeddyurappa) on Friday evening took oath as the new Chief Minister of the state, days after the Congress-JD(S) government fell and resignation by Kumarswamy. BS Yediyurappa took as the CM of Karnataka for the fourth time at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru on July 26, hours after staking claim to form the government during a meeting with Governor Vajubhai Vala at his residence.

Meanwhile, the council of ministers are scheduled to take oath later, as the newly-formed Yediyurappa government is still in the process of finalising the names for the ministerial berths. He will have to prove the majority of his government in a week's time.

BJP chief and Home Minister Amit Shah took to Twitter and congratulated BSY, saying that he is sure that under "his leadership and under the guidance of PM Modi, BJP will give a stable, pro-farmer and development-oriented government in Karnataka".

From Yeddyurappa to Yediyurappa

As per reports, he changed the spelling of his name from Yeddyurappa (D) to Yediyurappa (I) on the advice of numerologists. Reportedly, he used 'Yediyurappa' during the time he won his first-ever election in 1975 as a member of the Shikaripura Town Municipality till the time he became CM of Karnataka for the first time in a coalition agreement with the JD(S). However, he had to change his name to 'Yeddyurappa' after he had to resign as chief minister in 2007 which was barely one week of his chief ministership.

On November 12, 2007, Yediyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the first time. However, since Kumaraswamy-led JD(S) refused to support his government over a disagreement on sharing of ministries, he had to resign as Chief Minister on 19 November 2007.

On May 2008, Yeddyurappa took oath of office as Chief Minister for the second time after leading BJP to historic victory in 2008 Assembly elections. However, he had to quit on July 31, 2011 after pressures from BJP Central leadership over report on illegal mining case by Karnataka Lokayukta.

In the aftermath of the 2018 Karnataka Legislative assembly elections, Yeddyurappa was invited to form the government and was made the Chief Minister by the Governor. He was sworn on May 17, 2018, becoming the Karnataka CM for the third time.

In a surprising move, 'Yediruappa' made a comeback on BJP leader's letter to the Governor staking claim to Karnataka government for the fourth time.  

Fall of the Kumaraswamy government 

The 14-month-old Congress-JDS coalition government headed by HD Kumaraswamy collapsed on Tuesday after losing the vote of confidence in the assembly in a climax to the three-week-long intense power struggle. The BJP won the trust vote on Tuesday by garnering 105 votes in comparison to JD(S)-Congress' combined total of 99 votes. 

Orders passed by Kumarswamy as caretaker CM suspended

Moments before Yediyurappa's swearing-in ceremony, Karnataka Chief Secretary TM Vijay Bhaskar issued a letter on the directive of CM-designate Yediyuappa, suspending all orders passed by HD Kumarswamy as the caretaker CM. He also held the transfer orders signed by the CM which were yet to be enforced. 

"All work orders issued by caretaker CM in July 2019 should be stopped till they are looked into," the letter read.

READ | Karnataka: BJP's BS Yeddyurappa Stakes Claim To Forming Government, Says Swearing-in At Friday

Disqualification of rebel MLAs

In a surprising on Thursday, the Karnataka Assembly Speaker announced disqualification of Independent MLA R Shankar and Congress MLAs Ramesh L Jarkiholi, Mahesh Kumthalli under the anti-defection law of the 10th schedule. Congress Legislative Party (CLP) chief Siddaramiah welcomed the decision, saying that rebel MLAs were involved in anti-party activities.

"Such stringent resolutions are essential for the protection of democracy. This historic decision will be a warning hour for those who violate the mandate for selfish achievement," he said in a tweet.

READ | Karnataka Speaker Disqualifies 3 Rebel MLAs -1 Independent And 2 Congress, Under Anti-defection Law

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water