From Union Ministers Constituting His Earlier Term To New MPs With Strong Grassroot Presence, PM Narendra Modi's Cabinet Is Powered By These Six Women MPs. Read Here.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his council of ministers took oath on Thursday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Here are the six MPs who are a part of his cabinet. 

Written By Apoorva Rao | Mumbai | Updated On:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his council of ministers took oath on Thursday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Here are the six MPs who are a part of his cabinet. 

Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Minister

Nirmala Sitharaman took oath as the Union Minister in PM Narendra Modi's cabinet on Thursday. She was the Defence Minister in PM Narendra Modi's previous term, and only the second woman to lead the ministry. She is a two-time member of Rajya Sabha since 2016. 

She formally joined the BJP in 2008. SHe became the party's national spokesperson from 2010 to 2014. She was elected as the member of Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh in 2014. Following that she was made the Minister of State, Commerce and Industry, with independent charge. 

In 2016, she was elected as the member of Rajya Sabha in Karnataka. During this period she was given the charge of ministries of finance and corporate affairs. Following the cabinet reshuffle she was made the Raksha Mantri. It was during the term as the Defence Minister, India carried an air strike against Pakistan-based terror camps across LoC in Jammu and Kashmir following the Pulwama terror attacks. 

Smriti Irani, Union Minister

Being hailed as the giant-slayer of the Lok Sabha elections, Smriti Zubin Irani on Thursday took oath as a Union Minister of PM Narendra Modi's cabinet. 

Irani who uprooted the Gandhi family from their stronghold in Amethi began her journey with the BJP in 2003. 

She was made the party's National Secretary in 2010 and the All India President of the BJP Mahila Morcha in the same year. The following year, she became the member of Rajya Sabha from Gujarat. 

Later in 2014, she contested against Rahul Gandhi from Amethi in the Lok Sabha elections and lost with a margin of over a lakh votes. 

She was given the portfolio of Human Resources and Development in PM Modi's cabinet in 2014 after NDA came to power with a massive mandate winning 282 seats. She was later given the Textiles Ministry in 2016 after the cabinet reshuffle. 

She was given the additional charge of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (India) briefly as Venkaiah Naidu had quit from the ministry to fight the Vice Presidential Elections.

In 2019, she defeated Rahul Gandhi from Amethi with 55,120 votes in the Lok Sabha elections.

WATCH: Loud Cheers Welcome Smriti Irani As She Takes The Oath-of-office As A Union Minister In The Modi Cabinet 2.0

Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Union Minister

Badal took oath as the Union Minister of the cabinet. She had held the portfolio of the Ministry of Food Processing in her previous term.

The politician from Shiromani Akali Dal an ally of BJP in Punjab won from Bathinda in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections with over 21,772 votes against Congress' Amrinder Singh Raja Warring. In 2014, she had won from the seat with 19,395 votes. 

She married to Sukhbir Singh Badal, former Punjab deputy CM and SAD chief.

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Minister of State

Jyoti has been sworn in as a Minister of State in the Narendra Modi-led Union cabinet.

Saffron-clad Jyoti, a minister in the outgoing Narendra Modi Cabinet, has won from Fatehpur parliamentary constituency in Uttar Pradesh, improving her victory margin this time by over 70,000 votes.

Before testing her popularity as an MP, she was an MLA in Uttar Pradesh from 2012 to 2014, when she represented Hamirpur assembly constituency. In the outgoing Modi government, Jyoti held the portfolio of Minister of State for Food Processing Industries.

The MP has been a strong advocate of promoting afforestation, social and cultural values, protecting cows, uplifting poor children and helping women from financially weak backgrounds get married.

The 52-year-old, who has studied upto school level, lists gardening, participating in religious and cultural programmes and reading scriptures and biographies of social and political leaders as her pastimes.

Apart from this, she is also interested in undertaking pilgrimages and listening to hymns

Renuka Singh Saruta, Minister of State

She is the first female MP from Sarguja, Chhattisgarh. She was a Cabinet minister in the Raman Singh government and known to be a strong tribal female politician from the state. 

She won in the Lok Sabha polls defeating senior Congress leader Khelsai Singh by over 1.5 lakh votes. This was a huge turn around for the BJP as it was defeated in the assembly polls in the state. 

Singh had lost to the senior politician in 2013.

She was the first woman president of Ramanujnagar mandal of the BJP in 2000 after she joined the party. She later became the Ramanujnagar Janpad member and served in the Samaj Kalyan Board from 2001 to 2003. She also took over as the secretary of the BJP state women’s wing. She currently serves as the vice-president of the party’s ST cell and represents the powerful Gond community. 

Debasree Chaudhuri, Minister of State

Debasree Chaudhuri, newly-elected BJP MP from Raiganj became aa part of Narendra Modi's new cabinet.

The long-time BJP member, Chaudhari had earlier headed the party's youth and women's wings - the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha and Mahila Morcha. She is currently one of the General Secretaries in the party's state unit.

In 2014, she had come third in the Burdwan-Durgapur Lok Sabha constituency winning 17% vote share. In 2019, she fought against heavyweights - Deepa Dasmunsi of the Congress and CPI-M's Mohammad Salim from Raiganj to win 511652 votes.

Before taking her oath, Chaudhuri not only expressed joy over getting a call for being a part of the team but also affirmed that her party will form government in West Bengal.

" I am feeling very good, I was expecting the phone call. Upcoming assembly election will be one-sided because TMC will not exist. Their MLAs and Councillors are joining BJP. TMC will not be able to do anything in the next election. BJP will form the govt there. We will finish them in 5-6 months," said Debasree Chaudhuri.

IN PICTURES : As PM Modi Takes Oath For A Second Term, Here Are The Most Stunning Visuals From The Rashtrapati Bhavan

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water