Karnataka Crisis: 10 Congress-JD(S) MLAs Arrive In Mumbai After Tendering Resignations To State Assembly Speaker

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • 10 of the 14 rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs who earlier resigned from the Karnataka Assembly, have reached Mumbai
  • Three rebel MLAs - Ramalinga Reddy, S.T. Somashekar, and Munirathna - stayed back in Bangalore

As the crisis in Congress-JD(S) Karnataka government increases, at least 10 of the 14 rebel MLAs who earlier resigned from the state Assembly, have reached Mumbai on Saturday evening. As soon as arriving in Mumbai, the MLAs were taken to a 5-star hotel in Mumbai's Bandra area. 

While the 10 MLAs reached Mumbai, three rebel Congress MLAs - Ramalinga Reddy, S.T. Somashekar, and Munirathna - stayed back in Bangalore. 

Meanwhile, a meeting took place at senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah's residence in Bengaluru, which was attended by other Karnataka leaders including KC Venugopal and HK Patil. Following the meeting, HK Patil said that the ongoing Karnataka crisis was discussed and he urged the rebel MLAs to not resign from the party or take any decision against the party, while speaking to the media. Further speaking on the resignations of the MLAs, Karnataka Minister & Congress leader Zameer Ahmad said that they will come back to the party, adding that their resignations have not yet been accepted. 

READ | Karnataka Crisis: "Why Should I Not?," Asks DK Shivakumar Confirming He Tore Congress MLAs' Resignation Letters As 14 Legislators Leave Kumaraswamy Government On The Brink

Earlier, Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala targeted the BJP party over the resignation of the rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs from the Karnataka assembly. 

"The coalition government of Congress-JD(S) is still intact in Karnataka," Randeep Surjewala said while addressing the media in the matter. 

This development has come after senior JD(S) MLA H Vishwanath, who resigned from the Karnataka Assembly, confirmed that 14 MLAs of the ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition have resigned from the House.

Senior Congress leader DK Shivakumar reportedly tore down the resignation letter of four ministers in the Speaker's chamber earlier in the day, and attempted to hold talks with senior leaders including Ramalinga Reddy, Basavaraj Rayareddy, Munirathna, and S T Somashekhar in order to control the critical situation.

If the resignations are accepted by the Speaker, the ruling Congress JD(S) coalition will lose majority in the 224-member Assembly with its strength coming down to 104. 

READ | Karnataka Crisis: 10 Congress-JD(S) MLAs Flying To Mumbai 5-star After Resigning; Randeep Surjewala Targets BJP