Karnataka Crisis: Fast-paced Developments As Multiple Congress-JD(S) MLAs Tender Resignations And Move To Governor's Residence, BC Patil Blames 'injustice'


Congress and JD(S) MLAs who resigned from there respective parties have moved to the Governor's House saying that there is injustice happening to their constituencies. One of the MLA from Congress who has resigned has said that injustice has been done to his constituency in north Karnataka.

Written By Apoorva Rao | Mumbai | Updated On:

Congress and JD(S) MLAs who, as per sources, tendered their resignation from there respective parties to the Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar are moving to the Governor's House. One of the MLA from Congress who has resigned has said that injustice has been done to his constituency in north Karnataka.

Congress MLA BC Patil on leaving from Karnataka assembly Speaker's office said, "Injustice has been done with my constituency and injustice with the people of North Karnataka." 

Earlier on Friday, in a huge jolt to the Congress-JD(S) coalition government in Karnataka, three JD(S) and five Congress MLAs have handed over their resignation to the state Assembly Speaker K. R. Ramesh Kumar in Bengaluru, as per sources.  H Vishwanath, Mahesh Kumthalli, BC Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Shivaram Hebbar, Narayan Gowda, Pratap Gowda. The resignation is reportedly yet to be accepted by the Speaker. Kumar has allegedly cited health reasons and left from his Speaker's chambers. 

Three more Congress MLAs-  Byrathi Basavaraj, ST Somashekar, and Munirathna are reportedly set to submit their resignations, triggering a mass resignation. Two more Congress MLAs are poised to resign from their posts, as per sources.

READ | Karnataka Political Crisis SCOOP: Yeddyurappa’s Aide Seen With Former JD(S) State Chief Who Has Also Resigned In The Mass Exodus

Sources further report that Congress Committee General Secretary KC Venugopal has also been rushed to  Bengaluru to control the damage. Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara and State minister DK Shivakumar have called an emergency meeting of Congress Bengaluru MLAs and Corporators later today on Saturday. 

The Congress and JD(S) coalition, which won 115 seats combined, is currently in power in the Karnataka State Assembly managing a slim margin over the BJP's 105 seats. 

With 13 MLAs resigning the Congress-JD(S) coalition will have 103 MLAs left along with two BSP MLAs and one Independent MLA making their total to 105. The BJP too has 105 MLAS. One Independent MLA in the Congress-JD(S) coalition is Reddy's daughter. With the reduced number of seats, the halfway mark has also been reduced to 105. 

READ | MASSIVE: Multiple Karnataka MLAs Resign, JD(S)-Congress Coalition On The Brink, Former State Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy Confirms He's Part Of Exodus

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water