New Governors Appointed, Kalraj Mishra To Move From H.P. To Rajasthan


President Ram Nath Kovind, on the recommendations from the Central Government, appointed new governors for five states including Tamil Nadu and Rajasthan.

Written By Ria Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:
New Governors

President Ram Nath Kovind, on the recommendations of the Central Government, appointed new governors for five states including Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Maharashtra and Rajasthan on Sunday. 

Tamilisai Soundararajan to be the New Governor of Telangana

Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan, Chief of BJP’s Tamil Nadu unit was appointed as the Governor of Telangana and will now take over the post that was under the dual charge of E S L Narasimhan, who was also the Governor of Andhra Pradesh before its bifurcation and recently demitted office. 

READ | 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results for Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu: Kanimozhi rides resurgent DMK's wave, defeats state BJP chief

Bandaru Dattatreya to replace Kalraj Mishra

Former union minister and a long term loyalist of BJP, Bandaru Dattatreya replaced Kalraj Mishra to be the new Governor of Himachal Pradesh. Dattatreya has previously served as the Union Minister of State and Urban Development under the Vajpayee government.

READ | CONTROVERSIAL: "Telangana a safe haven for terrorists," says BJP MP Bandaru Dattatreya accusing KCR government of not taking

Mishra to move from Himachal Pradesh to Rajasthan

Mishra, who has been associated with Uttar Pradesh politics for long and has had the privilege of holding multiple portfolios including the Union Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises has now been transferred to Rajasthan and will now replace Kalyan Singh in the state.

READ | President Kovind appoints Acharya Devvrat as Governor of Gujarat, Kalraj Mishra as Governor of Himachal Pradesh

Koshyari to take up the governor post in Maharashtra

Bhagat Singh Koshyari, a senior BJP leader, who is known to have held multiple important posts in Uttarakhand, has also made it to the list of new governors. He has been given the charge of Maharashtra and will be replacing Vidyasagar Rao. 

Arif Khan - New Governor of Kerala

In Kerala, Arif Mohammed Khan, who is known for his relentless crusade against Triple Talaq, replaced P Sathasivam as the new Governor. He will replace P Sathasivam, former Chief Justice of India, who had joined the office in 2014. Khan entered politics as a part of the Indian National Congress but quit the party over differences with the Rajiv Gandhi government. Arif is known for speaking for Islam reformation, writing books and giving lectures on the subject.

READ | Rajiv Gandhi's critic, Arif Mohammed Khan appointed as Kerala Governor

According to the Rashtrapati Bhavan's Press Communique, all the appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices. 











By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water