Prime Minister Narendra Modi To Chair Meeting Of Niti Aayog's Governing Council On June 15, Details Here


On June 15, the Prime Minister will chair the first meeting of the government think-tank the Niti Aayog after forming the new government. 

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has resumed the work mode soon after the swearing-in ceremony on May 30 when he had bilateral talks with the president of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbay Jeenbekov. On June 15, the Prime Minister will chair the first meeting of the government think-tank the Niti Aayog after forming the new government. 

Informing about the meeting, official sources said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will chair the fifth meeting of Niti Aayog's Governing Council on June 15. Chief ministers, lieutenant governors of union territories, several union ministers and senior government officials will be present in the meeting.The Governing Council is expected to discuss important subjects, including major issues concerning water management, agriculture, and aspirational district programme, according to official sources.

Besides, the council will also deliberate on security issues in districts impacted by left-wing extremism in states like Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh. Headed by the Prime Minister, the Governing Council meets regularly, and its first meeting took place on February 8, 2015. The second meeting of the council on July 15, 2015, reviewed the progress made by the three sub-groups of chief ministers and the two task forces.

In the third meeting of the council on April 23, 2017, Modi had pitched for conducting simultaneous elections of the Lok Sabha and the state assemblies and shifting to a January-December fiscal year. The fourth meeting of the council on June 17, 2018, deliberated upon measures taken to double farmers' income and the progress of government's flagship schemes.

The NITI Aayog (Hindi for Policy Commission) is a policy think tank of the Government of India, established with the aim to achieve Sustainable Development Goals and to enhance cooperative federalism by fostering the involvement of State Governments of India in the economic policy-making process. It was established in 2015, by the NDA government, to replace the Planning Commission. The Prime Minister is the Ex-officio chairman. The permanent members of the governing council are all the state Chief Ministers, along with the Chief Ministers of Delhi and Puducherry, the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar, and a vice chairman nominated by the Prime Minister. In addition, temporary members are selected from leading universities and research institutions. These members include a chief executive officer, four ex-official members and two part-time members.

(with PTI inputs)



By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water