Provisional Seat-sharing Between SP-BSP-RLD For Lok Sabha Elections In Uttar Pradesh Accessed. Here's The Expected Division

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • According to sources, RLD will be contesting three seats along with SP-BSP alliance in Uttar Pradesh
  • RLD will be contesting from Mathura, Bagpat and Muzaffarnagar

Pertaining to Uttar Pradesh ahead of the Lok Sabha 2019 elections, RLD will be getting three seats, as far as the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) alliance is concerned, sources reveal 

As per the seat-share formula, RLD will contest from Mathura, Bagpat and Muzaffarnagar seats, forming a BSP-SP-RLD alliance in Uttar Pradesh minus Congress. 

READ| Here's Omar Abdullah's Analysis Of Rahul Gandhi's Reaction To Congress Being Left Out Of SP-BSP Gathbandhan In Uttar Pradesh

The SP and BSP had earlier decided to contest 38 seats each in the 80-seat state, leaving 2 seats for other allies and 2 seats uncontested (Amethi and Rae Bareli - held by Congress president Rahul Gandhi and UPA chief Sonia Gandhi). 

RLD leader Ajeet Singh's son Jayant Chaudhary met Akhilesh Yadav on Wednesday in Lucknow to discuss on the seat distribution. The RLD, which is a part of their coalition had earlier asked for five seats but after the announcement of SP-BSP seats, but according to sources, after the meeting, SP has agreed to give up their Mathura seat to RLD and will be contesting 37 seats, instead of 38 seats. 

RLD, a part of the anti-Modi government alliance, having a strong base in western Uttar Pradesh, will contest from Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat and Mathura seats.

Earlier on Tuesday, BSP chief Mayawati appealed to workers of her party and the Samajwadi Party to forget their past differences. On Saturday, the BSP and the SP announced an alliance in Uttar Pradesh for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections to unitedly fight the BJP. 

"Forget past differences and ensure the victory of all joint candidates of the SP and the BSP. This will be my ideal birthday gift," Mayawati said at a press conference here on her 63rd birthday.

READ| After Snub By SP-BSP Gathbandhan In U.P, Congress Makes Pitch To Smaller Parties In Fight Against BJP, Says 'will Contest Elections On All 80 Seats'

On the occasion of BSP's supremo Mayawati's 63rd birthday, her party leaders have not only extended warm wishes for their party chief but have also declared her a Prime Ministerial-candidate in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Specifically, they have declared her India's next Prime Minister.