Sena Issues Ultimatum To BJP: 'No Govt Till 50:50 Formula For CM Post'


Shiv Sena on Saturday has issued an ultimatum to BJP demanding a written statement from CM assuring that the CM post will be shared equally for 2.5 years each.

Written By Suchitra Karthikeyan | Mumbai | Updated On:

After the 'Mahayuti' swept Maharashtra in the Assembly polls, Shiv Sena on Saturday has issued an ultimatum to BJP stating that party chief Amit Shah and CM Devendra Fadnavis should issue a written statement assuring that the CM post will be shared equally for 2.5 years each. Speaking to reporters outside Matoshree, Shiv Sena MLA Pratap Sarnaik has said that Uddhav Thackeray is of the opinion that the 50:50 formula promised by BJP prior to the polls. This was discussed in the party's legislative meeting on Saturday where Sena MLAs have demanded for Aaditya Thackeray to be made the CM.

READ | Tiger with Clock sniffs Lotus in Shiv Sena's party symbol-filled post

Sena issues ultimatum : 'No govt till 50:50 formula for CM post'

"To keep the alliance intact, the formula of 50:50 in which the CM post will be shared for 2.5 years each along with the equal bifurcation of ministerial posts should be given in a written statement by the BJP to Uddhav ji. Then this government will be formed. till then the government will not be formed. BJP should fulfill its promise, such is the opinion of Uddhav ji. We have voted unanimously on this and the final decision will be taken by Uddhav ji," he said.

WATCH | Mumbai: Newly elected Sena MLAs to meet Uddhav Thackeray at Matoshree

Sena reminds BJP of pre-poll promises

Sarnaik added that while the Sena had agreed to a lesser seat share, it will not compromise in the post-poll 50:50 formula, saying, "Mahayuti will continue and Shiv Sena will continue to support BJP under the leadership of Amit  Shah and CM Devendra Fadnavis. But a promise was given to us, before the elections of the 50:50 formula. Due to some reasons, the seats could not be divided equally as 144:-144. But as the issue is about Hindutva and the elections have completed."

READ | Maharashtra Cong chief: 'No plan to support Sena to keep BJP out'

Sena demands Sena CM

Earlier in the day, the newly-elected MLAs of the Shiv Sena met party chief Uddhav Thackeray at his residence - Matoshree. Prior to the meeting, Shiv Sena MLAs yet again demanded that the Yuva Sena chief Aaditya Thackeray be made the new Maharashtra Chief Minister. Multiple MLAs - including Sarnaik spoke to Republic TV to assert that the Worli MLA had a vision for a new Maharashtra and must be made CM.

"Our main demand is that our Yuva Sena chief Aaditya Thackeray be made CM. He has a vision for Maharashtra. Whatever our views are, we place them to our party chief Uddhav Thackeray. The youth demand that Maharashtra's CM should be Aaditya Thackeray" said an MLA.

Shiv Sena to push Aaditya Thackeray for Maharashtra CM

Shiv Sena's growing power over BJP?

With BJP's diminished final tally of 105 compared to 122 in 2014 the Sena improved its strike rate securing 56 of 124 seats contested compared to 63 seats of the 282 seats. Sena Supremo Uddhav Thackeray has also reminded CM Fadnavis of the 50:50 alliance agreed upon prior to the polls, after the victory. Apart from this, posters were also spotted in Worli on Friday, demanding Yuva Sena chief and newly elected MLA Aaditya Thackeray be made CM; which has been a long-standing Sena demand.    

Poll results in Maharashtra 

The saffron alliance swept Maharashtra on Thursday, winning a combined tally of 161 (BJP- 105, Sena -56) to award CM Devendra Fadnavis a second term. But the comeback of the 'Maha- Agadhi' alliance (NCP-Congress) took the Mahayuti by surprise as the NCP bagged 54 seats while the languishing Congress too bagged 44 seats. Though the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance will form the next government, it was handed a diminished mandate compared to 2014 where it won 185 seats.

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water