SENSATIONAL: In A Massive Coup, Rajya Sabha Unit Of Chandrababu Naidu's TDP Passes A Resolution To Merge Its Legislature Party With The BJP


In the biggest political coup, Chandrababu Naidu's Telegu Desam Party MPs and MLAs demand to merge of the party with the BJP.

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

In the biggest political coup, Chandrababu Naidu's Telegu Desam Party's Rajya Sabha unit passes a resolution to merge the party legislature with the BJP. This development comes after a massive jolt when 4 Rajya Sabha MPs belonging to TDP, including former Union minister, YS Sujana Choudhary joined BJP in presence of Vice President Venkaih Naidu and BJP working president JP Nadda.

Speaking to Republic TV, YS Chowdary said:

"2/3rd members of Rajya Sabha of TDP are joining the BJP. The Rajya Sabha unit of TDP is merging with BJP with immediate effect. This is a legislature party, we are merging that. We have not talked to Chandrababu Naidu." 

The resolution passed by the Rajya Sabha unit reads as follows: 

The Legislature party of TDP in Rajya Sabha met today under the Leadership of Legislature Party's leader Y S Chowdary and Legislature Party's Deputy Leader Shri C.M Ramesh.

Inspired and Encouraged by the impeccable leadership of Shri Narendra Modi ji and the developmental politics being pursued by him in the overall interest of the nation, we have decided to merge with the BJP with immediate effect under Paragraph 4 of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India. 

After considerable deliberations thereafter, it has been resolved:
1. to merge the Legislature party of the TDP with BJP with immediate effect under Paragraph 4 of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India

2. to write to President of BJP to accept the merger and convey his acceptance through a resolution to Honourable Chairman of Rajya Sabha

3. to write to honourable chairman requesting him to allow the merger under Paragraph 4 of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India and treat us as part of the BJP Legislature Party.


Here is the resolution that was passed by the members: 

Earlier, 4 TDP Rajya Sabha MPs namely YS Chaudhary, TG Venkatesh, CM Ramesh and Garikapati  Mohan Rao submitted a letter of resignation to Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu regarding their decision to leave the TDP. Dissent among TDP leaders was reportedly already present after the party's dismal performance in the Lok Sabha and concurrent state assembly elections. TDP currently has 6 Rajya Sabha MPs.

Commenting on the defection TDP spokesperson Dinakar Lanka has dismissed the reports as rumours while adding that there is dissent among TDP ranks.

"After defeat introspection in the party, this is news that I am hearing from the media. As these above mentioned leaders are available in Rajya Sabha, you can contact and ask them yourselves, instead of spreading rumours. There is unhappiness among the ranks of TDP but that happens after defeat," he said.

BIG: Andhra Pradesh CM Jagan Mohan Reddy Rubbishes 'Deputy Speaker Post For YSRCP' Offer, After Meeting Union Home Minister Amit Shah

Currently, the TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, who skipped PM Modi's NITI Aayog meeting and all-party presidents' meeting, is on a holiday touring Europe after he left the country on Wednesday. Naidu along with his family has left on a vacation and is expected to return to Andhra Pradesh on June 26, as per reports.

On May 23, the Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP decimated Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh in 2019 Lok Sabha polls and Assembly elections, by winning 151 seats out 175-seater AP assembly leaving on 23 seats for TDP and only 3 Lok Sabha seats.

The main reason for TDP's defeat has been speculated as Naidu's absence in a local campaign while he was busy trying to band Opposition leaders from Congress, AAP, NCP, Trinamool, SP, BSP  to revive the Mahagathbandhan against the BJP-led NDA.

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water