Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress Agree On New Formula, CM Berth And Portfolios: Sources


As per the agreement, the Shiv Sena has insisted on the CM post for the entire tenure of 5 years, and the NCP-Congress are likely to get the Dy CM berth. 

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Updated On:

Amid the political logjam in Maharashtra, as per the sources, the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress has largely come to a consensus over the formula. As per the agreement, the Shiv Sena has insisted on the Chief Minister's post for the entire tenure of 5 years, and the NCP and Congress are likely to get the Deputy Chief Minister berth. 

According to sources, the Cabinet will be split with Sena getting 16 Ministerial berths, 14 portfolios for NCP and 12 for Congress. Sources report that the party chiefs Uddhav Thackeray, Sonia Gandhi, and Sharad Pawar will take the final call on the Common Minimum Programme worked out.

READ| Sanjay Raut takes 'power-hungry' jibe at former CM Fadnavis, amid Sena-NCP-Congress talks

Sonia-Sharad meeting 

Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi and NCP supremo Sharad Pawar are scheduled to hold a meeting on Monday at 4 PM over the political scenario in Maharashtra and a probable alliance with the ideologically differing Shiv Sena. 

Allies Congress and NCP have already worked out a common minimum program with the Shiv Sena for the government. The Shiv Sena, NCP, and Congress are occupied discussing the nitty-gritty of government formation in the state which is currently under the President's rule since November 12 after the saffron alliance fallout over 50:50 formula. 

READ| Mumbai Mayor polls: Congress demands Deputy Mayor post to support Shiv Sena in polls

Earlier on Thursday, the final draft of the common minimum program was prepared in the joint meeting of the leaders from the three parties.  Congress' Prithviraj Chavan, Manikrao Thakre and Vijay Wadettiwar, Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai and NCP's Chhagan Bhujbal, Nawab Malik and Jayant Patil met in Mumbai to decide the portfolios split, target issues. etc. Party chiefs Sonia Gandhi, Sharad Pawar and Uddhav Thackeray are all set to discuss during the weekend and release the final blueprint early next week - November 19.

Shiv Sena quits NDA

Meanwhile, Sena and BJP's Maharashtra battle reached a national level as Sena's 18 Lok Sabha MPs too decided on Thursday to boycott the all MPs meeting on November 17 prior to the Winter session of the Parliament. After Sena's sole Union minister Arvind Sawant's resignation from the Modi cabinet, this indicates a larger split between the ideologically similar parties at the Centre. On the other hand, Former CM Devendra Fadnavis has stated that 'Three parties can not run a government. There is no alternative to the BJP government.'

READ| 'Shiv Sena not part of NDA meeting', informs BJP leader Prahlad Joshi

READ| Uddhav Thackeray cancels Ayodhya visit over Maharashtra govt formation; farmer distress

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water