Sonia Gandhi & Rahul Gandhi Protest In Front Of Gandhi Statue In Parliament Over Karnataka & Goa Developments, Raise 'Save Democracy' Banner


Speaking to news agency ANI Rahul Gandhi said, "We are protesting against Karnataka and Goa issue."

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the Karnataka crisis continues with the ruling JD(S)-Congress coalition at the verge of falling, and the Congress government in Goa facing the loss of majority mark, Congress leaders including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Anand Sharma protest in front of Gandhi statue in Parliament.  Speaking to news agency ANI Rahul Gandhi said, "We are protesting against Karnataka and Goa issue."

Situation in Karnataka:

  • Chief Minister HD Kumarawamy is holding an emergency meeting at the time of writing the article. 
  • As the rebel MLAs camped in the Renaissance Hotel in Mumbai approached the Supreme Court with Mukul Rohatgi  representing them at the top court, on Thursday, Rohtagi said that the apex court has heard the plea and have instructed the MLAs to meet the speaker at 6 in the evening on July11, it has also instructed the DGP of Karnataka to give proper protection to the MLAs when they go to meet the speaker.  He added that the Supreme COurt has ordered the Speaker to pass an order on the plea of resignation, and the order will be presented in the court tomorrow, after which hearing will commence. The MLAs had accused the Karnataka Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar of abandoning his constitutional duty and delaying acceptance of their resignations. 
  • Karnataka Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar confirmed on Wednesday, that two more Congress MLAs Dr. K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj have tendered their resignations in the prescribed format, bringing the total number of resignations tendered to 16 MLAs of the ruling state government.
  • Congress MLAs Dr. K Sudhakar was heckled at the Vidhan Soudha and Congress leaders forced him to enter KJ George's chamber to convince him to take back resignation. Former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah also met him. 

    READ: Karnataka Crisis: Drama Spills Over In Delhi & Mumbai Apart From Bengaluru. All You Need To Know

Situation in Goa:

On Wednesday evening, two-thirds (10 out of 15) of Congress MLAs from Goa submitted their resignation to the Assembly Speaker Rajesh Patnekar and expressed their desire to join the BJP. The group of the 10 Congress MLAs is led by Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar. The MLAs include Atanasio Monserratte, Jeniffer Monserratte, Francis Silveira, Philip Nery Rodrigues, Cleaofacio Dias, Wilfred DSa, Nilkant Halarnkar and Isidor Fernandes. On Thursday morning, the 10 Goa MLAs reached Delhi and as per sources are scheduled to meet BJP national president Amit Shah and national working presindent JP Nadda. 

With 10 Congress MLAs joining hands with the BJP party, the strength of the Grand Old Party is reduced to five in the House. Currently, BJP is the single largest party with 17 MLAs in the 40-member Assembly, along with Goa Forward Party and Independents having three MLAs each, while one MLA each from NCP and MGP. After the 10 Congress MLAs merging with BJP, the strength of the saffron party has increased to 27 from 17. 

Dilemma over Congress president:

As confusion prevails over the appointment of new Congress president, CWC members will be meeting on Thursday to finalize the names for shortlisted candidates for the post of next Congress president. The Congress is facing what many observers have called an existential crisis, after Rahul Gandhi resigned as Congress president and the Congress Working Committee (CWC), the highest decision-making body of the party busy in insisting him to continue. Meanwhile there has been an internal tussle within the Congress between leaders to grab the top position - Milind Deora resigned as Maharashtra Congress chief and his predessesor Sanjay Nirupam lashed out at him saying that it seems he wants to get a higher position in the party. 

READ: Ten Goa Congress Rebel MLAs Arrive In Delhi With CM Pramod Sawant, Will Meet BJP Chief Amit Shah, JP Nadda

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water