TDP Big Support Push Ahead Of The Monsoon Session Of Parliament


The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is all set to garner support ahead of the Monsoon Session of Parliament

Written By Payal Mehta | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is all set to garner support ahead of the Monsoon Session of Parliament. The session which will be for lesser than three weeks will begin on July 18 and go on till August 10.

The TDP MPs have formed teams of four or five among themselves. They'll meet non-BJP, non-Congress parties’ presidents and parliamentary party leaders as well as all the BJP allies who are part of NDA.

MPs delegations will handover TDP President and CM Chandrababu Naidu’s letter and a booklet to explain what injustice has been done to the state and why there is a need to support their cause.

Former Union Minister & TDP leader of party YS Chowdary is leading this reachout. YS tells Republic, "We will reach out to all parties. We need to get maximum support for our cause. Our colleagues will cover the length and breadth of the country to bring our concern to the fore. TDP will continue it's agitation in the upcoming session. We will also demand for a no-confidence motion against the government."

First time Lok Sabha MP Ram Mohan Naidu tells Republic, "Our CM has directed us to reach out to the opposition parties ahead of the start of the session. We need to get as much support as possible. We are very hopeful."

Senior leader Thotha Narasimhan and Ravindra Babu who are in Mumbai will meet Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray and NCP chief Sharad Pawar in Mumbai on Monday.

Rajya Sabha MP CM Ramesh who recently fasted for 10 days demanding for the setting up of the Kadapa Steel Plant will meet leaders from both DMK and AIADMK. He will also follow it up with meeting with JDS. Ramesh will meet both with HD DeveGowda and son HD Kumaraswamy. He is also to follow this up with meeting Mayawati of Bahujan Samajwadi Party and Akhilesh Yadav of Samajawadi party.

YS Chowdary along with former Union Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju will seek a meeting for support with TRS chief and CM of Telangana KC Rao. He will also meet AIMIM chief and Parliamentarian Asaduddin Owaisi. After which, he will also meet TMC chief Mamata Banerjee.

Ram Mohan Naidu to meet INLD leaders. Guntur MP Jaydev Galla to meet the Bihar party leaders including Tejaswi Yadav of RJD. He will also meet allies in NDA Nitish Kumar of JDU and Ramvilas Paswan from LJP.

Diwakar Reddy will meet the Akali leader of either former Deputy CM Punjab Sukhbir Badal and also his wife and central minister  Harsimrat Kaur Badal.

TDP MPs will try to wind up all their meetings before the evening of 17th July and anyone still remaining to be met will happen during the session.

This comes in after their party chief and Andhra CM Nara Chandrababu Naidu has reached out to several leaders personally on the phone. Naidu has spoken on the phone to Mamata, Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav, HD Kumaraswamy and Stalin to name a few.

Like in the Budget Session this time too TDP plans to do dharna outside parliament and will continue its agitation on the floor of the house.

Here is the letter by the TDP:



By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water