WATCH: Congress Leader Mallikarjun Kharge Blames BJP For Resignation Of 14 MLAs In Karnataka, Says 'BJP Is Destabilizing The Constitutionally Elected Govt'


Karnataka has slipped into a political crisis after the 14 Congress MLA resigned, with speculations of falling of Kumaraswamy govt in Karnataka more and more apparent

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the state of Karnataka looms into a political crisis after 14 MLAs resigned, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said that government should run as per Constitutiona and that the BJP is destablizing it. The Congress rebel MLAs outside Sophitel hotel said that they will not withdraw their resignations.

Mallikarjun Kharge said: "Govt should run as per Constitution. It is a constitutionally elected govt in Karnataka. They (BJP) are destabilizing it. In about 14 states, they are pressurizing, not only Congress MLAs, but also the regional party members."

Speaking to media, MLA ST Somashekar outside Sofitel hotel in Mumbai said: "We 13 MLAs submitted resignation to the Speaker & informed Governor. We all are together. No question of going back to Bengaluru & withdrawing the resignations."

Specualtion of Operation Lotus: 

On Saturday, Republic TV accessed an exclusive photo of the aide of BJP leader Yeddyurappa outside the hotel in Karnataka where the rebelling JD(S) MLAs were staying. The Personal Assistant of Yeddyurappa was photographed outside the hotel and also seen with JD(S) leaders including former party president H Vishwanath.

BJP leader Yeddyurappa dismissed charges of horsetrading on Sunday and said that the party did not have any role to play in the ongoing crisis in Karnataka where, as per sources, at least 14 JD(S)-Congress MLAs have resigned.

"I am going to Tumkur and I will come back at 4 pm. You know about the political developments. Let's wait and see. I don't want to answer to what HD Kumaraswamy and Siddaramaiah say. I am nowhere related to this. The BJP has no role to play," he said.

READ: Karnataka Crisis: 'There Is No Question Of Going Back To The Congress,' Says Rebel MLA BC Patil

Current Karnataka Government numbers:

The Congress and JD(S) coalition, which won 115 seats combined, is currently in power in the Karnataka State Assembly managing a slim margin over the BJP's 105 seats. With the exodus of 13 MLAs from the JD(S)- Congress coalition, then the JD(S)-Congress combination gets reduced to 102 MLAs, falling short of BJP's 105 MLAs. But this excludes the BSP's 1 MLA and 2 Independent MLAs. With the reduced number of seats, the halfway mark has also been reduced to 105 with both BJP and the current government JD(S)-Congress-BSP) possess 105 seats.

While the BJP government may have the numbers to conduct a trust vote on the Assembly, they do not have the numbers to pull down the government which may continue as a minority government. Sources have reported that BJP may wait for the by-polls to assess the party's chances better.

READ: Karnataka Crisis | 14 Congress-JD(S) Coalition MLAs Resign Citing Disappointment With Kumaraswamy Government, Dispel 'Operation Lotus' And BJP Hand Rumours: Here's All You Need To Know


By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water