WATCH | Former Foreign Secretary S Jaishankar Takes Oath As A Newly-inducted Cabinet Minister In The Modi Cabinet 2.0 At Rashtrapati Bhavan

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Former Foreign Secretary of India Subrahmanyam Jaishankar took oath as the Cabinet Minister, along with Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on May 30. 

Here's his oath of office:

"I, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, do swear in the name of God (or, solemnly affirm) that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established, that I will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India, that I will faithfully and conscientiously discharge my duties as a Minister for the Union and that I will do right to all manner of people in accordance with the Constitution and the law, without fear or favour, affection or ill-will."

The oath of secrecy reads:

"I, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, do swear in the name of God (or, solemnly affirm) that I will not directly or indirectly communicate or reveal to any person or persons any matter which shall be brought under my consideration or shall become known to me as a Minister for the Union except as may be required for the due discharge of my duties as such Minister".

READ | IN PICTURES | PM Modi's 99-year Old Mother, Heeraben Modi Applauds As Her Son Narendra Modi Takes Oath As The Prime Minister Of India

Jaishankar, who joined the Indian Foreign Services (IFS) in 1977, has previously served as Indian Ambassador to multiple countries, the High Commissioner to Singapore before retiring and joining the conglomerate -Tata Sons as President, Global Corporate Affairs in 2018. He was also awarded the fourth highest civilian honour - the Padma Shri in 2019.

Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister for the second consecutive term after winning a landslide majority in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections on May 23. Besides, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, several NDA leaders also took the oath to the office including new entrant BJP chief Amit Shah, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Harsimrat Kaur Badal. Ram Vilas Paswan among others.

READ | Here's The Full List Of Ministers In The Second Narendra Modi-led NDA Government Who Are Taking Oath With The Prime Minister