WATCH | Nitin Gadkari Takes Oath As A Newly-inducted Cabinet Minister In The Modi Cabinet 2.0 At The Swearing-in Ceremony At Rashtrapati Bhavan

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Former Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways and BJP MP from Maharashtra's Nagpur Parliamentary constituency Nitin Gadkari took oath as the Union Minister in the PM Modi Cabinet 2.0. at the swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on May 30. 

Here's his oath of office:

"I, Nitin Jairam Gadkari, do swear in the name of God (or, solemnly affirm) that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established, that I will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India, that I will faithfully and conscientiously discharge my duties as a Minister for the Union and that I will do right to all manner of people in accordance with the Constitution and the law, without fear or favour, affection or ill-will."

The oath of secrecy reads:

"I, Nitin Jairam Gadkari, do swear in the name of God (or, solemnly affirm) that I will not directly or indirectly communicate or reveal to any person or persons any matter which shall be brought under my consideration or shall become known to me as a Minister for the Union except as may be required for the due discharge of my duties as such Minister".

After taking the oath as the Union Minister, Nitin Gadkari greeted President Kovind by shaking hands with him at the stage. 

READ | Narendra Modi To Take Oath Of Office For Second Term As Prime Minister: LIVE Updates Ahead Of Swearing-in Ceremony Here

Nitin Gadkari has been one of the highest performing Union Ministers in the Narendra Modi's first cabinet, with exceptional works as the Minister of Road Transport and Highways from 2014-2019. 

He has been credited for the efficient construction of expressways, roads and bridges. He is the current member of Parliament from Maharashtra's Nagpur constituency who retained his seat by defeating Nana Patole of Congress party. Previously, Gadkari also held the positions of Minister for Rural Development, Minister for Panchayati Raj, and Minister for Drinking Water and Sanitation in 2014.

Narendra Modi took the oath as the Prime Minister of India, beginning his second consecutive term in office at 7:05 pm on May 30 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan's Forecourt in the presence of over 8,000 guests.  

WATCH: Narendra Modi Takes Oath As The Prime Minister Of India, Begins His Second Term In Office